My 5 stages of painting in oils that never let me down! Stage 2: Massing in the big areas of value!

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone!

Today it's time for stage 2 in my one a day series, 5 stages of painting in oils that never let me down!

To read the first stage, here is a link to yesterdays post;

https://steemit.com/art/@mayasky/my-5-stages-of-painting-in-oils-that-never-let-me-down-stage-1-the-big-proportions

This is the painting I will be discussing the stages from;

Uten navnmn.png
Me photographed with the painting.

Uten navnnmn,mn,.png
The finished painting. ''Summer morning'' oil on panel, sized 100 x 80 cm.

In this series I will talk about five stages I go through more or less every time I make a painting. The same "recipe" is also applicable in portraiture or still life painting.

Yesterday I was talking about getting in the big proportions, today I will be talking about what comes next!

So lets get going on stage 2!

Stage 2- massing in the big areas of value

U5dr8Xqo3Z7xQCEWCdVCdepkLn5tUn9_1680x8400mnmnm.jpg

In the second stage it's all about starting to make the big impression work.

After all, if the big impression, meaning all the big values and relationships between them, doesn't work, it doesn't really matter about that one little cloud you painted so perfectly.

No one is gonna pay attention to that anyways is all they can think about is how that sea looks way to dark and grey compared to that way too yellow sand.
In this stage it is more about just massing in the values, meaning just laying in the big areas of color next to each other and making them work. This is one of the stages I've struggled with the most in my time as a painter. Knowing the impact of color and values and how they play off each other becomes pretty evident in this early stage and often takes some practice.

One thing that can be helpful in this stage is introducing your lightest light and darkest dark. That way you have something constant to relate to the other values and makes it more likely that you don't end up with a bunch of values too light or too dark.

Do you ever use this stage when you paint a painting?

Do you have any questions about this stage in particular?

If you do, I am more than happy to try and answer the for you! ;)

Stay tuned for tomorrows stage 3; breaking up the big areas!

I wish you all a wonderful and creative day!

Much love,

20668110_1612540948767201_752565352_n.jpg

Sort:  

The colour harmony is wonderful! Like it very much!

Thank you so much @art-universe! :) Happy you like it! :)

Nice layer set in the second step nice to see it happening :)

Thank you @blazing! :D <3

beautifully done great work there by you dear ;)

Thank you so much :)

just see your post amazing painting you have done..keep it up for more designing paint ...just followed you for more post..great

Thank you so much! :) Appreciate it @awaisquarni! :)

I am not a painter but it does indeed feels great to look at a great painting and see the work of an artist taken to a great level :)
Nice work done !

Thank you so much @rehan12!! :D Very happy you enjoyed the read! ;)

Thanks for explaining how massing in the big areas of value is done perfect work :)

Thank you for reading @brianceo!! :D <3

as an artist is this the hardest process for you dear ?

Sometimes it can be ver hard, yes :) Though I much prefer working with bigger areas than details ^^ <3 Thank you for your comment @wandering!

Thanks @ mayasky, more lovely work from you! Thanks for sharing your process of painting...glad you're not a magician who can't share her secrets ;)

Thank you so much for your comment @cerealface82! :) No,for sure not! Lets get the people painting, hehehe...

You're very welcome! Hehe, you're an advocate as much as an artist! Yes, let's get the people painting @mayasky!

Happy New Year!
Nice to see this fine landscape in the beginning of the new year. It reminds me of my Heimat. Perhaps you know the biggest island of Germany, called Insel Ruegen. This place already inspired Caspard David Friedrich two hundred years ago. Sure you know.

Happy new year @johano!! :D
Thank you so much! :) I know of the great work of Caspard David Friedrich, yes! How fun that my landscape reminds you of Insel Ruegen. :) I never thought of the similarities, thank you for pointing it out! :)

slowly it came into perfection wow very nice post

Thank you so much @starboye! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57136.05
ETH 2350.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40