"Catch me if you can" - Printing results!✨

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Good day everyone!! 🙌

Today I am going to share the results of yesterday's printing session of my two latest drypoints.

Put together they make up a hunting scene which I have choose to call " Catch me if you can".

IMG_20180126_021532.jpg
"Catch me if you can", hand pulled drypoint on zink plates.

This was the first time I used zink plates to engrave my drypoint on. Before I have only used copper and chose zink plates this time as an experiment mainly because they are a lot cheaper.

Turns out they are a great, much more affordable option to engrave on than copper!

IMG_20180126_122801.jpg

IMG_20180126_122849.jpg
The plates all inked up before I pulled them through the press.

This time I also used pure powder pigment that I mixed with a fatty oil to make my own ink from scratch. That turned out to create a huge difference in the quality of the finished product and the experience of inking up the plate.

Usually I find that I have to work a long time to rub off the ink to only have it remaining in the engravings as the ink tend to be quite sticky. This results in a wiping process that takes forever. Well!! Not with my made from scratch inks! They literally come off the plate in no time while remaining in perfect place exactly where it's supposed to!! 🙌✨ Magic!!

IMG_20180125_154107.jpg
Plates through the press.

I am so happy with my new discoveries! Hopefully this will make drypoint a lot easier in the future. 😊

IMG_20180125_161504.jpg
Foxy...

IMG_20180125_152859.jpg
Mr.Hare..

By the way, do you think the fox should be on the bottom of the paper or on the top like it is now?

I'm also wondering about the colors, more red in the fox? 🖌

I hope you are all having a great Friday!

Sort:  

These little guys are so great! I'm glad you were able to come up with a few helpful tricks to make the process easier. It's always such a relief when you make discoveries like that. haha
I'm thinking a little more red or orange on the fox would look great, and perhaps a hint of brown on the hare, to tie them together???

Thank you so much @offbeatbroad for taking the time to comment! :) I think adding some brown in the hare is a great idea! Was thinking that they looked a bit too different somehow... I'll definitly try it out :) Thanks a bunch! <3

looks more like magic to me its interesting and wonderful :)

Thank you so much @brainceo! :D <3

It sure is great !And nicely done !

Thank you so very much @rehan12! :D

damm those looks super amazing and incredible this is great :D

Thank you so much dear! :* <3

good post, I like your post ..

I need your support please visit my blog https://steemit.com/@muliadi
if you like my post please give upvote, resteem &follow me.
thank you, keep on steemit.

Thank you! :)

Excellently it came out this was interesting :D

Thank you so much @citysliker! <3

Looks so beautifully on that mr. hare is my favorite :D

Thank you very much @starboye! :D

Nice to know about this process i didn't knew that it could be done like this wow thanks dear for sharing this post step by step :)

Thank you very much @steemphotography! :D And my pleasure! :D

Wow beautiful animals art !

Thank you so much! 😊❤

Foxy colors are impressively amazing to see nice work :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 64375.18
ETH 2615.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85