A portrait sketch from start to finish - Progress and thoughts

in #art6 years ago

Hi all! 😊☀

How are you this fine evening?

Today I finally had time to make a little painting sketch to get back into the swing of things!

Logopit_1527107135698.jpg
Progress square of my portrait sketch.

It was a rather quick project about three hours from start to finish. This time I also made a little charcoal drawing before I started the painting.
Usually I just go straight in and sketch up the drawing, but today I wanted to go about it a bit differently.

I was thinking about my process when I made watercolor portraits and wanted to make a similar approach with this little sketch.

Here is my progress!

IMG_20180523_201140.jpg

First made a drawing of my model with Nitram charcoal on my primed panel.
The drawing shows the big proportions and planes of the face. I didn't add much value but went for a simple linedrawing like I do with my watercolors.

IMG_20180523_201036.jpg

The second step, like with my watercolor painting, was to put a light wash of a general color and value. I started with this one on the face.

Next one in the hair;

IMG_20180523_201005.jpg

After the general wash of color I add in the value of the shadows;

IMG_20180523_200926.jpg

I then add some of the darkest values to get a sense of how much I can push my values.

IMG_20180523_200837.jpg

After the previous step I then start adding the paint a bit thicker and model the form of the face working from the top down.

IMG_20180523_200754.jpg

/

IMG_20180523_200615.jpg

/

IMG_20180523_200424.jpg

After this firs inlay and modeling of paint I went over the face one more time introducing some stronger colors and then the hair. I also added some more details and darker values to push the sense of form.

IMG_20180523_212142.jpg

I kept the paint application quite loose this time compared to my slightly tighter usual painting style and I think it fits the subject matter better.

Last but not least, this wasy palette for this project and these were the colors I used;

IMG_20180523_133948.jpg
Titanium white, napels yellow light, yellow ochre, bright red, alizarin crimson, grey violet, grey blue and ivory black.

I hope you enjoyed this little step by step and that you are all having a wonderful and creative week so far!

🙏❤☀🎨😘

Sort:  

Wow! This is amazing!

I like the way you brought depth by adding those shadows.

Stunning work!! Thanks for sharing :D

Thank you @joxus! 😊 My pleasure!

I like how the character is marked when the portrait is finished

Well, your progress square is actually finish to start. =)
Upvoted.

Yep, a progress square from start to finish 😉 Thank you @leoplaw :)

Is that your own personally selected palette of colours or one a particular master?

This is my own selected palette for this painting. I just discovered violet grey and blue grey and love them both particularly for landscapes, but I found they also work quite nicely with skincolors. :)

Interesting. Yes, I find that the "strange" colours do magic things for a painting and keep people guessing as to what you've used. It's that wonderful illusion of art or rather our eyes and brains, when colours are placed next to each other and they become something else.

Yes, absolutely! :) It's like magic! :)

Wow amazing art work I'll try to make like this.🌹💫

Take Care.
Bless you.

Thank you very much @aiman! 😊🌺

Welcome friend.

Fasicnating to figure out how you incorporated the colours on your palet into the picture. The blue is not even for the eyes, and the red not for the lips! (Well hardly.) Reminds one of the craft that goes into good art.

Yes, @sukhasanasister, I didn't use any of the colors on my palette pure the way they came out of the tube. All the colors you see are mixes creater from two or more colors together. 😊

This is so beautiful and well done! The progress tips and explanations are also extremely useful 🙏

Thank you so much @sofieverbiest! :) that's so nice to hear you enjoyed the post! :)

The muted colors really work well here. Fun to see how the layering adds to it.

fine artwork) I will be glad if you visit my blog, there is a competition for a portrait

Thank you @funny.arts! :) I'll have a look ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65160.59
ETH 3545.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43