Finding our bearings through life. I can’t believe it’s been a year since I moved from Switzerland to the Netherlands!

in #art8 years ago (edited)

This piece brings me back to roughly a year ago when I first moved to The Hague, Netherlands. I don’t think there had ever been a moment more freeing than when I sat on my new bed, near dumbfounded that I was where I was. I lived in Basel, Switzerland for 21 years of my life and it will always be my home, a place where I feel safe, comfortable and loved. So, moving was a pretty big deal to me because I had been thinking about it for quite some time. Maybe I needed a ‘real’ reason to move and University seemed like a viable reason… 

I know now that I didn’t have it as hard as a lot of people because I was fortunate enough to be able to move in with one of my best friends. This was due to his room-mate coincidently leaving for the UK two weeks before I arrived. In way too many instances have I been in the situation where people were constantly complaining about their room-mates or even blatantly expressed hatred towards them. This to me is unbelievable but it put luck into perspective for me for a moment as there is no way in hell I could live with someone I don't get along. That being said I try to get along with everyone...

 I still count my blessings today that I found a wonderful home to start my life and that I’m sharing with one of my closest friends. Moving out taught me so many lessons I don’t know where to begin so I won’t ramble but let you enjoy the work instead. It took roughly 12 hours to complete and it’s still untitled, so if you have an interesting idea please do share it with me.  


At this really early stage as you can tell I got bored with planning everything out so I decided to start doodling.





Title: Untitled   

Media: Ink on paper  

Size: A4   

Date: February 2016 


Thank you for taking the time to check out my post! Until next time.

- MaxiM

Sort:  

Sometimes doodles turn into our best work ;) I admire your positivity - keep it up and you'll be amazing yourself in no time!

It sure does ;) Positive Mind Positive Vibes Positive Life. Thank you so much for leaving a comment! :)

I love this style of work. Meditative to look at, and I would imagine it could be that way also to create (except the tedious bits!). I didn't come up with a name for it though.

Thank you, that is great to hear! The tedious bits are usually really calming because of their repetitive manner... Idk I'm a bit weird :') Don't worry about that, its taken me a year.

Weird can be good, embrace the weirdness! Spending a year on a piece of art is true dedication. Well done, paid off in the end.

Weird is fantastic, beautiful and keeps me sane. I fully embrace it with all my love! Thank you, indeed I feel it did as well :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58430.93
ETH 2504.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39