Experimenting with different canvases and light. Ultraviolet acrylic paint has become one of my favourite mediums over the years.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I think it was back in 11th grade high school when I first started experimenting with ultraviolet and glow in the dark acrylic paint. Unfortunately it was only during my first gap year that I could fully immerse myself into it due to constraints my school director put on the art department. Nevertheless, I am glad my then-teacher allowed me to work with it a little,  allowing me to gain enough interest to fall back to it once I was free to do as I pleased. Thank you for taking interest in me! Below is an example of the work I did when I still lived in Basel, Switzerland. 

Title: The visible spectrum   

Media: Acrylic paint, ultraviolet acrylic paint, glow in the dark acrylic paint on canvas   

Size: 30cm x 30cm x 15cm

Date: October 2014

The visible spectrum is the part of the electromagnetic spectrum that is visible to the human eye. Electromagnetic radiation in this range of wavelengths is what we call light. The spectrum does not contain all the colour that our brain can distinguish. In fact, unsaturated colours such as pink, purple or variations like magenta are absent because they can only exist with a mix of wavelengths. Colours that contain only one wavelength are called spectral colours. Visible wavelengths pass through the electromagnetic spectrum that allows wavelengths to pass through the ‘optical window’ as we call it, meaning the region of the electromagnetic spectrum that allows wavelengths to pass largely unchanged through the Earth’s atmosphere. An example of this phenomenon is that clean air will scatter blue more than red wavelengths, and so the sky appears blue. Our world would be a lot different if we saw on a different wavelength like the ultraviolet, or the infrared one.  

Sort:  

I'm enjoying this artwork. Will follow.

I'm glad you are :) Thank you so much!

Love your work. Followed.

Thats so awesome! Thank you :)

Wow this looks amazing! do you have more of those you can show :O :D?

Thank you so much! I do indeed and I'm working on posts right now ;)

Very cool!!! Upvoted followed and resteemed!! Please follow me back😊

Thanks so much again. Iv'e followed you back :)

:D followed so I don't miss any!

Thats fantastic! Thank you :) Got a post coming up in an hour or two.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64273.56
ETH 3487.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52