Step-by-Step Process of a Memoriam Portrait (Video Lesson)

in #art6 years ago

Sometimes as portrait artists, we are called to capture the memory of a lost loved one. It's a very special thing, a privilege that we given, to be able to do that for someone.
I don't take it lightly.

Recently, I just finished up a commissioned portrait for a friend, whose pastor has recently passed away. This is an 11" x 14" acrylic on canvas. I want to show you the entire process, but I'm going to start in this post with just the sketch and first couple layers. Then, we'll just add on with more steps to this same post.

Many of my blog readers prefer more video content rather than written, so that's how I'm going to do it here.

Step 1: Blocking in the First Shadows and Tones

Step 2: Filling in the Initial Skin Tone Glaze

COMING SOON-2.jpg

Hope you enjoyed this acrylic portrait painting tutorial. As always, let me know how I can help you with your portraits or if you have a question. Leave me a comment below!

Be blessed as always and we'll be in touch,

Signature_200dpi_sm.jpg

If you like this post, please comment, upvote, follow me ( @mattphilleo ) and resteem. I post regularly on art, tips on painting and drawing, and encouraging thoughts. You are helping me to do art full-time and support a family. Thank you so much!--Matt

See more of my artwork at: MattPhilleo.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04