You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: W.I.P.- Oil Paint Portrait I Am Working On

in #art7 years ago

The more I looked at this painting, the better I liked it. I do portrait paintings myself in a traditional, realistic style using the glazing technique, but your style seems intentional--not at all like someone who is attempting realism, but can't pull it off. I like the way the image gets looser and raw towards the bottom.

The abstracted shapes and tints within the hair are fantastic. Upvoted and following!

Sort:  

Thank you. Lately I have found myself more interested in the texture and qualities of the paint rather than the exactness of my image. I have been trying to introduce ways of letting the life of the paint and painting process show through.

You do some pretty great work Matt. I am following you. Looking forward to going through your posts to see what I can learn.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58300.22
ETH 2638.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44