Original Portrait Drawing of a Newly Married Couple

in #art6 years ago

Here is a drawing I did, a commissioned sketch--11" x 14", pencil on paper, celebrating that happy day.

Flores_Drawing_2c.jpg

Here are some in progress steps...

Step 1

The first step is to make sure you have the outlines of the people in correctly. I just draw in the proportions using short, choppy pencil strokes. After, I'm satisfied I have the likeness captured, I erase the extra lines, leaving just the outline.

IMG_0514.JPG

I start shading in everything. In a drawing, I have to work from left to right, or else I will smudge my work. In a painting, I can work everything at once, but again, in pencil, it's much more effective to shade everything with a finished look, and slowly cover the entire surface of the subjects. I use cross hatching, and a little tissue to blend in the shading I put down.

Step 2

I keep filling in the areas, paying attention to the shadows, and always leaving the brightest highlights (like where the sun is shining on their faces, bright white)

IMG_0525.JPG

Step 3

Getting the skin tone (even in black and white) sharply defined is so important. I use a 0.5 mechanical pencil to keep those sharp edges (such as the area where the collar meets the neck).

IMG_0526.JPG

Step 4

Here, the drawing is almost done. Yes, I've signed it, but that doesn't stop me from adding just a few more details! When is the drawing done? When the client approves it. Then I don't touch it. :)

The Final Drawing

IMG_0527.JPG

Flores_Drawing_2c.jpg

Hope you found this post helpful and inspiring. Have a blessed day as always,

Signature_200dpi_sm.jpg

If you like this post, please comment, upvote, follow me ( @mattphilleo ) and resteem. I post regularly on art, tips on painting and drawing, and encouraging thoughts. You are helping me to do art full-time and support a family. Thank you so much!--Matt

See more of my artwork at: MattPhilleo.com

Sort:  

Wow. Congratulations on a lovely creation. Your attention to detail is amazing. Looking forward to seeing more of your work in the future.

Thank you, Rocky! I love rewarding the viewer for taking a closer look with extra detail. And it is the details that really capture the likeness of the subject and give us that connection to them.

Amazing Technique

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64320.49
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54