Original Painting of My Wife Holding Our Daughter After She Fell

in #art7 years ago

I'm always looking for an idea to paint.

Sometimes, an idea will come after a lot of reflection. Other times, it comes from an epiphany after I read my Bible and pray. And many other times, it's just from life.

The other day, when my family and I were at my parents-in-law's house, my two-year old daughter fell backwards on her head. Fortunately, there was carpet so it wasn't too bad of a fall, but still bad enough to make her cry.

My wife quickly picked her up, and while comforting her, I grabbed my smartphone and snapped a couple pics. I thought this tender moment would make an engaging painting.

I especially love capturing the tender moments of human interaction, and that's one of the main reasons I draw and paint portraits.

Leah_Addy_in_Prog_4a.jpg

In the image, you can see my wife holding her little girl tight. She's a bit saddened still from her accident, but completely at peace and at ease in mother's strong arms. The polished but capable hands securely hold her up, and she knows it will be all right.

Leah_Addy_in_Prog_1.jpg

The painting started off with just raw umber dark, and then I added a couple colors at a time, using the glazing technique. My goal was to capture the two different light sources: One, of a warm incandescent lamp, and the other of the cool window light shining in.

Leah_Addy_in_Prog_2.jpg

The interplay between the cooler light as it falls especially on the mother's face, I think, creates a psychological effect that, when coupled with her pensive expression evokes a feeling of strength and compassion, yet mingled uncertainty.

Leah_Addy_in_Prog_3.jpg

I don't know for sure, because I'm a man, but maybe this is what it feels like to be a mother!

Leah_Addy_in_Prog_4a.jpg

This is a 16 x 20, acrylic on canvas, titled "After the Fall." It's still in progress, but more than halfway completed. There's a lot more to add in the way of shading, details and nuances. But for now, this gives you an idea of where the painting is at. :)

Have a blessed day as always,

Signature_200dpi_sm.jpg

If you like this post, please upvote, follow and resteem. I post regularly on art, tips on painting and drawing, and encouraging thoughts.

Sort:  

I like your style! Also, very sweet.

Thank you, Justice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64911.06
ETH 3194.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60