Original Mini Painting: "Reflecting on Milwaukee"

in #art7 years ago

This is a miniature 2.5" x 3.5" acrylic painting I did based off a scene I originally captured in pastel on a larger piece of paper while I was an art student at Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design in 1996.

In the original pastel drawing, this is what I saw before me as my friends and I sat out by the edge of the Milwaukee River, close to our dorms in the Historic Third Ward.

Reflecting on Milwaukee.jpg

Are there any Milwaukee natives out there that recognize anything in this painting?

Hope this painting blesses you,

Signature_200dpi_sm.jpg

Sort:  

I love the distance of that bright light in the center, it makes me feel that something is there and greatness is reachable.

Thank you, Jpinka. That bright light is the focal point in the painting for sure. Greatness is definitely reachable. And when we're pursuing the right kind of greatness---that which will glorify the God who created us and truly help humanity--there's nothing better. "I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me." (Philippians 4:13)

Wow! Is is nice. I dont live im milwaukee but it looks really lovely.

Thank you, Zurumsories! Milwaukee is Wisconsin's largest city--almost 600,000--but it still retains some of that old town feel. Even though it's hard to pick out in such a small painting, you can see the Miller "Lite" tower in the distance on the right hand side. I lived there twice in my life: back in 1991 for a few months and then again in 1996-97 while I was going to art school and making a few connections there.

Wonderful memories.
Theres this feeling of nostalgia when we remember good places we've once lived or been to. Its a beautiful city.

Awesome painting!

Love this painting, man.

Thank you, Kafka!

Nice! Will be looking forward to your posts :-)

up voted

RightWithin

I appreciate the upvote, Rightwithin. I'll check out your posts too.

Beautiful painting!

Thank you so much, Jennifer!

Nice atmosphere

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58603.60
ETH 2628.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45