New Book Illustration Project, Chapter 3

in #art6 years ago

Good morning! Here is Chapter 3 of my original illustration work for author Karen Meyer. These drawings are 5 1/2" x 7," pencil on paper, for her children's book, The Young Man From India.

Chapter 1

Chapter 2

Chapter Three – Waiting for Breakfast

Chapter_3-1000px.jpg

The morning had gone too slowly for Spencer. He and his dad sat at the breakfast table. Spencer had hurried with the chores, but that hadn’t sped the morning on it’s way.”

It was Saturday and his mom always fussed with breakfast more on Saturdays. Usually Spencer enjoyed this, but today it didn’t work for him. Dad was reading the paper and mom was making crepes. He had no one to talk to, and besides that, he was more in the mood for pancakes.

“Why was she doing all of this?” Spencer wondered. “Why isn’t the clock moving?” Spencer said aloud. “Is it broken?”

Dad put the paper down.

“What’s wrong, son?”

“I was called to the table, but it’s not ready yet, and I can’t wait for the morning to pass,” Spencer replied. “Quincy seems like he will be a lot of fun, and since you don’t have as much time to ride the ranch with me anymore, I’m really anxious for the afternoon to come.”

“Oh, I see.” Dad said.

Dad picked up the paper again, but then put it down.

“Son, you should never hurry up time. Don’t let it pass without enjoying the moment.”

“Yes, I know, dad. You can never bring time back again. Once it’s gone, it’s gone. I know you always say that.”

Spencer became brave and added, “But isn’t that advise more valuable for old people than for young people like me? I know you’re not that old, dad, but you know what I mean don’t you?”

“Well, the thing is . . . (he thought for a moment) once you get in the habit of not enjoying the moment for one reason or another, you might find that when you’re old, you have spent your whole life wanting the next day or week to come and you have missed out on the present.”

“How can I enjoy this moment when you’re busy reading the paper, and mom can’t be bothered because she’s checking a recipe she hasn’t made for awhile? I was told that breakfast was almost ready, so I sat down.”

“What is it that you would rather be doing?” Dad asked.

“Mr. Thorton left his sign up at the road. I guess he forgot about it. Now our neighbor, Jim, needs to replace it so it will say, “The Clifford ranch.”

Dad stopped listening and began contemplating. “Clifford. Hmm. That’s an English name, I think. Your grandfather came from Gloucestershire. We might be distant relatives – very distant, of course. You could be playing with your cousin.”

“Really? Do you think so, dad? That would be awesome! I felt right away we had something in common. Did I tell you that we’re in the same grade?”

“No, you didn’t. You’re going to have to protect him from all those girls in your class. Two-thirds of the class is girls.” Dad chuckled.

“You two are going to have to stop your ‘man’ talk’ now,” mom teased as she brought the crepes covered with strawberries to the table, along with bacon.

“Anyway, son, what was it you really wanted to do instead of sitting at the table watching me read the paper?” Dad hadn’t forgotten.

“I wanted to look for some scrap wood and try carving a sign for Mr Clifford. I told Mr. Clifford, Jim, that is, that I might be able to make a sign for him to hang at the road. He said he didn’t know how to do any carving and gave me permission to try my hand at it.”

“Do you think we could do this together when I return home this evening?” Dad asked.

“I don’t know, dad. I can’t think of anything that would be more fun than to get started at it.”

“Well, you know the first one often doesn’t turn out the best anyway,” dad reminded. “It’s often the practice one. When I come home this evening, we’ll both take a look at it and decide what you think.”

“You’re probably right, dad, but it would be great if mine turned out good the first try, and I could take it over this afternoon for Jim when I go to pick up Quincy.”

“Do you remember that I put the carving tools on the west shelf of the shed, Spencer?” dad asked.

“No, I didn’t. Thanks dad. And can I use any wood scraps that I find?”

Spencer’s mom was sitting patiently at the table with her head bowed and hands folded. Now, she was waiting on them.



That's it for now! I'll be sharing Chapter 4 in the next few days. For now, though, have a blessed day, and I'll be in touch!

Signature_200dpi_sm.jpg

If you like this post, please comment, upvote, follow me ( @mattphilleo ) and resteem. I post regularly on art, tips on painting and drawing, and encouraging thoughts. You are helping me to do art full-time and support a family. Thank you so much!--Matt

See more of my artwork at: MattPhilleo.com

Sort:  

Wow cool a very good postman, I always enjoy this post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33