How to Sketch Accurately for a Portrait

in #art7 years ago

Every good house needs a strong foundation. So does a realistic painting. In this video, I show you how to get your portrait more accurate by analyzing some features in a student's portrait painting sketch, giving tips on how to improve. Enjoy!

Have a blessed day,

Signature_200dpi_sm.jpg

If you like this post, please upvote, follow and resteem. I post regularly on art, tips on painting and drawing, and encouraging thoughts.

See more of my artwork at: MattPhilleo.com

Sort:  

@mattphilleo That was awesome Matt! Brought me back many moons ago when I used to do pencil portraits from snapshots and photos. This was one of my better ones.

I never quite got around to learning to use color. I realize the sketch in your video above is the foundation for a painting. It would be interesting to see some instruction and guidelines as to how one would begin to add color.

Thanks for this interesting and informative post!

Clark Gable.png

Thanks, Passion-ground! I plan on posting more instructional videos on how to add color. In the meantime, tonight, I plan to post an acrylic portrait I did with several in progress pics of how it came to be. Is that you sketch?
My wife just walked by and said "Rhett!" :) Upvoted your comment here...have a great night!

Great Matt - I look forward to those... And yes, that's my sketch... I used a high quality black & white photo as a reference... Thanks for the upvote!

Nice post! Keep it coming

Thank you, Awakening! I plan to, God willing!

Wonderful lesson! Thanks so much for sharing. Following for more :)

Thank you, Voronoi! Glad you liked this, and I plan on posting more.

thanks for sharing @mattphilleo
please check my last post about sketch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83