How I Painted a Pet Portrait in Acrylic on Hardboard

in #art7 years ago

Lynn_Dog_Portrait_Ptg1.jpg

Here is a commissioned portrait I did of two dogs, an 8 x 10, acrylic on hardboard. When you want to capture fine detail, especially on a small scale, hardboard is the way to go. It's so much smoother than canvas, and so the paint just glides right over the surface, whereas with canvas you have to struggle sometimes to get the paint to sink into the pores of the fabric weave.

Below is an in-progress picture of the painting. I start out by just arranging the colors and values in the right places, and work the entire painting at once, in stages. For something like this, I use a lot of raw umber dark, raw sienna and burnt sienna. It's important to differentiate the background from the foreground (the dogs and pillow) by making the background darker and cooler in tone. And so for that, I use ultramarine blue and a few shades of brown to make a blueish gray.

That really helps the dogs to "pop" and come forward in space.

0305142342-00.jpg

Finally, I paint the details on the top.

Lynn_Dog_Portrait_Ptg1-detail.jpg

It takes a lot of patience to achieve the realism, but it's worth the end result to hang in there and finish the painting so the client is happy with it and it brings them enjoyment for years to come!

I would love to hear your thoughts on this painting.

'Til next time, God bless and I'll talk to you soon,

Signature_200dpi_sm.jpg

If you like this post, please upvote, follow and resteem. I post regularly on art, tips on painting and drawing, and encouraging thoughts.

See more of my artwork at: MattPhilleo.com

Sort:  

I love dogs. They are so friendly to us humans. Every time I see a dog I feel the desire to touch and hug him.

Thank you, discernente! Glad you love dogs. God created them to be great companions for us as people.

This is absolutely amazing!

Thought it was a photo at first, great job!

Amazing work. Followed and upvoted... will check out your other posts :)

Thank you, Arty! I'll check out yours as well.

Scrolling through the articles I really thought this was a photo and I had to click on it because I saw that it was actually a painting. I am very impressed.

Thanks, Jpinka! I really try to achieve that realism as much as possible by placing the right colors and values in the right place. Have a blessed day!

Your art is absolutely amazing. God bless!

Thank you, Kirk! God bless you too!

Amazing work!

Since I know the owner of this portrait, I thought I'd add a comment. This was a gift from a woman to her friend. They were both blown away by this portrait since the dogs were deceased and, to them, the dogs now were "brought back to life". I must say that I also find this portrait most impressive!

Thanks for sharing your work Matt. Each piece is an inspiration and learning experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63679.06
ETH 2628.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83