Victorian Greenhouse - An Original Oil Painting by Matthew Holden Bates

in #art6 years ago (edited)

E693935D-0A0D-44AF-87F8-4C530282A3D6.jpeg

“Victorian Greenhouse” oil on canvas - 90cm x 90cm - private collection
©️Matthew Holden Bates

For ten years I lived in a neighborhood in Firenze that was dominated by this amazing Victorian Greenhouse. It is part of the Giardino dell’Orticultura. When I was going to move to another part of town, I decided to make a painting that would remind me of where I have been. It ended up being one of the most detailed paintings I have ever made. It also traveled the world, exhibiting in Sesto Fiorentino (Firenze), Paris, Cannes, and finally in Boston before finding a new home in a private collection.

Here are some details of the painting to give you a better idea about how intricate it really is:

CC90BDC7-D80B-4CA2-9B26-DE68E00EC88D.jpeg

“Victorian Greenhouse” detail

5FA9A07E-81A8-4F3B-A595-48A55CD1FBCD.jpeg

“Victorian Greenhouse” detail

Victorian Greenhouse Cannes.jpg

"Victorian Greenhouse" at Galerie Neel in Cannes, France

If you would like to see more of my work, you can follow me on Steemit and visit my official website:
http://www.mattbates.net

You can also get a limited edition print of this painting at Curioos:
https://www.curioos.com/product/print/victorian-greenhouse

Sort:  

So beautiful @matteopaints; I love the colors in the iris ... simply stunning :)

Thanks!!!!! I am glad you like it 😀

That is quite stunning and congrats on the sale! Is it painful to sell one of your paintings after you have put your heart and soul into it?

This painting really has my heart and soul in it, that is for sure. I sent it to Paris, then Cannes, then it went off to Boston, and now, honestly, I don’t know where it is, and that saddens me. Paintings I make are like little pieces of me that get sent off into the world. I do miss them, but it is also nice that they are out there, where others can enjoy them too.

It is an amazing legacy to have!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you!!!!!!😀

Beautiful ! The colours are simply magical and I love the deft handling of the contrast between the yellows and the green, and then of the vibrant flowers and the pale background of the green house's architecture.... Gorgeous. Striking and absolutely a feast for the eyes~

The little red dots on the yellow petals are also superbly done <3 I love this very much !

Looking forward to seeing more from you!

upvotes and follows

Thank you so much!!!! :)

I love how realistic it is, while still showing us your style. Keep on posting! :D

Thanks!!!!!!😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64302.59
ETH 2654.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83