🔹 Work in progress - Sri Yantra mandala - acrylic on canvas

in #art6 years ago

Hi friends, it has been a long time since I painted some complex mandala. Yesterday I started with this beauty and the centre took 3 hours to finish. The whole canvas is in a size 70x70 cm, so lots of work is waiting for me.

2018-01-29.png

I used acrylic paint mostly, but also some permanent liners and contour colors. First I had to draw the centre on a paper. It is quite difficult to draw such a small ornaments on a canvas structure, so I had to stick the paper on the canvas. Then I started with the circles. They are all in a different color, so it was fun to paint it exactly according to the lines.

ezgif.com-video-to-gif.gif

I am going to paint the circles to the edges and then fill them with ornaments. There will be some abstract shapes, but also traditional lotus leafs like on a Tibetan mandalas. The whole painting will be mostly blue, but as you can see also some red, green and golden.

2018-01-29 (2).png

This is just a small part of the painting. About ten hours of work are in front of me. I am also working on a video from the process for you, so I hope it will be here in two days :)

2018-01-29 (3).png

 

Thanks for watching!

 
 

Follow me on Steemit

Facebook Instagram Youtube

#thealliance

Sort:  

Thought this post was pretty fantabulous
so it has been included in
the latest issue of 'Notes'.
Pop over and see what the fam is up to!

wow this is beautiful!

Nice art. Looks so natural. You just did a great job. Awesome

Nice one. And what does it means?

sri yantra is a mystical diagram. you can see it in tibetanan mandalas along with lotus leafs. It represents totality of cosmos.

Ou great. Thank you so much. I love mandalas. But this one is a bit different. At first i thought it is some Arabian thing.

3 hours is nothing for that center! it looks incredible @marty-arts
What exactly are the permanent liners and contour colors?

thanks :) I finished the whole painting today.. 13 hours of work, hope to upload the proces soon :)
liners are black and contour golden. other colors are acrylic paint..

oho, it´s a lot of work!
Great art!
#thealliance

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65355.67
ETH 3525.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47