🔵 Starting with WATERCOLORS - tutorial for beginners - part 1

in #art7 years ago

Hello creative Steemians! Some of you asked me how to start with watercolor painting, so I decided to make this post with some simple advices and tips for you. I have already made some tutorials for beginner about simple painting and also about paper types. I will try to summarize it here. In this first part you will learn something about paper and colors.

20171128_085714.jpg

Maybe some of you remember the school years, when you had to paint with watercolors on a standard hard paper. Just at this point most of us started to hate this insidious technique which always caused paper mowing, waving, color dissipation into another color, and so on.
This problems were caused by wrong set-out. No one told us we need a different type of paper and some of those cheap watercolors are just waste. Also the technique could not be learned properly without better tools. That is why we need to choose right.

The paper

There are more types of paper. It is better to use paper with no acid. It will not become yellow after some time. Handmade paper has harder structure and it can be unpredictable sometimes. Hot pressed paper has hard and soft surface. Cold pressed paper is softer and suitable for all kinds of use. If you're a beginner and you want to practice, students´ quallity paper is good enough for you.

I tried four types of watercolor paper. From the cheapest to the most expensive. It is important to say, not everytime the most expensive is the best for you.

Here are the types I use.

The "Aquarello watercolour" has the highest quality of them. It is made of cotton, acid free and archival. You can buy it in two shades - Traditional white and Extra white. I have that traditional white, which is a little yellow. It is not an advantage always. Blocks of this paper are glued. It prevents the paper from warping when wet, that is great.

The green one is also Fabriano paper, but it is designed for drawing. However, I really enjoy painting on it. It is acid free, 100% recycled, cold pressed with bright white color and I assume it suitable for watercolors.

Here are two more types I started to use recently. The blue one is one of the really cheap ones. It costs to 5€ and I bought it for practicing and for my students. The work with it is quite good. I found only one thing I dont like, the color has a little bit dissipated edges on it, but you can see it just when you take a closer look.

20171128_100530.jpg

And the last paper I present you is not from the expensive types. You can get 25 sheets in a block for 6 - 9€. This paper has some structure and it is a little bit beige, but I love to paint on it. The color does not soak into it too fast, so you can add more shades and play with it. From the types presented here I recommend it the most! After some practice the first type would be perfect for you too.

Watercolors

It is not easy to choose watercolors. There are options from 7 to 200€ and dozens of brands. As a beginner you can try students quallity first, because it is cheaper and enough for practice.

There are also watercolors in pans or in tubes. I tried both options and I can´t say I felt some difference. I just prefer pans because it is easier to manipulate with them. You can buy them in nice sets. There are differences between the amount of colors (12/16/24/36). The bigger set you have the less you will have to mix colors and also the shades will be clear and more beautiful. I think that "24 set" is enough for you.

20171126_204249.jpg

I tried four types of watercolors. I will mention two of them. One in tubes - Cotman watercolors for students. They have strong pigments and the quallity is good enough to have nice results. They are not too expensive and they dissolve slowly, so it is easier for you to make light shades, but yfter some time you can consider it as annoying.
The second type I bought just a few days ago. Russian brand Nevskaya Palitra, White nights colors. Thy are presented as artistic. I bouht the 24 set for 32€. They have really strong pigments, beautiful shades and you can dissolve them easily. That is the main difference compared to the first type.

I am sure you can find lots of information about waterclor brands and their comparation if you want to be sure, but you do not have to burden yourself as a beginner. The best brands are Sennelier, , M. graham, Winsor&Newton, Daniel Smith and Schmincke watercolors.
If you want to buy high quality epxensive watercolors, you can buy single pans, one by one starting with the basic pigments first.

I hope this post was useful for you. In the next part we will discuss brushes and try to paint first strokes, mix colors and make the first simple paintings.

 

Thanks for watching!

 
 

Follow me on Steemit

Facebook Instagram Youtube

#thealliance

Sort:  

This post has received a 20.49 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @marty-arts.

is great job
alwais i sish to become a painter bus i cant

Those pans look huge

Watching out for more ... 👩🏼‍🎨

It's very greats tutorial, you describe it professional. You are really good teacher with the beauty job. I have told you couple days ago, your posting is amazing and I love it so much. have job @marty-arts and have fun too.

thanks so much :)


This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team! If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot. An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Muxxybot is a Curation account that features chosen posts, selected and voted on by the Curation team. If featured, your post will be shared on Muxxybot's post, which will be resteemed by @gmuxx. The author will then get added to Muxxybot's voting list for automatic votes on all future posts.

great, accept :)

Excellent tutorial @marty-arts, follow you now. Upvoted & resteemed.

thanks so much :)

I resteemed this post this afternoon because I thought it was heavily undervalued. I am glad to see that it is doing a lot better now, but I am not happy to see that you have used a pay-for-vote service.

I probably wouldn't have needed to resteem this in order for it to get worthy rewards if no one used such services.

Please take a moment to consider what you are paying for.

The whales had an incentive to vote on good content. Curation rewards.

When the community made the decision to start paying for votes, that incentive was negated.

Now, instead of having an incentive to vote fairly, they now have a deterrent to doing so. The more votes they dispense organically, the less voting power they have to auction off.

Thus, it should be very simple to understand that paying for votes reverses the distribution of STEEM by redirecting the wealth of the platform back to its original sources.

For as long as the community continues to pay for the votes that were coming to them anyway, the whales will get even more powerful, and have even less reason to vote organically because everyone will be coming to them to pay for votes once no one else has the power to reward the community.

That aside, I appreciate the post. I have been thinking about trying watercolour painting myself as it can be a very quick process compared to other mediums. I wasn't sure where to begin though. This post was extremely helpful in that regard.

you can check out the second par here:

https://steemit.com/education/@marty-arts/starting-with-watercolors-tutorial-for-beginners-part-2

and you can see the value.. 3 hours of work and 3 SBD :) thats why I started to use bots few days ago.. I can get at least something and promote my posts... when it is so bad for the comunity and the platform, why are those bots allowed?

thanks for this great tutorial, I needed to know some things to get into watercolor painting, thank you for clarifying me those doubts!

glad I could help :)

Yay! I love this. What an awesome thing to do, instruct some beginners. I may have to get myself some supplies and try this.

thank you :) watercolors are great, you wont regret ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65858.36
ETH 3493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53