🔵 Simple watercolor painting - for beginners and children

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hi friends, let me show you some of the simplest yet nice paintings you can try with watercolors.

2018-01-18 (1).png

I teach kids from five to fifteen and some of the groups are mixed, so there are younger and older kids. I have to come up with work for both categories. Sometimes I prefer different techniques or subjects, but there can be also some universal.

Yesterday I was searching for some inspiration and painted a paper full of simple objects which can be easily painted. But the most important thing is to have watercolor paper. Just remember the school years when you had to paint something and the paper waved and made pillings everytime.

Paper for watercolor is more durable and the result is better. For this paintings I used A4 paper from a 25 sheet block I bought for 5€, so the price is not that high. I used only two brushes. Also the paints can be cheaper. You just need them to have stronger pigment so they would be bright enough.

2018-01-18 (6).png

You can use more water and paint without drawing the picture before. If you are not sure, just use pencil and make really light lines.

2018-01-18 (3).png

The important thing is to let the painting dry before finishing if you need some parts to be sharp. While I was wainting I started to paint another objects. Make sure you dont use too much paint, because a common mistake is to use watercolors as tempera. It means you want to repaint white background and you don´t use enough water, co the paint is dense and too dark. Watercolors are about working with the paper. It is all right if some parts stay white, or the paint is transparent. We use the white paper instead of the white paint. Do you want pink color? Use red with enough water and the paper makes the rest.

2018-01-18 (5).png

It is about creating layers. The first layer is the brightest. You let it dry and then make the second layer. If it is necessary aso the third.

2018-01-18 (7).png

There are more types of paintings in my paper. For example that cactus has three layers, so the jellywish. The red flower is simpler. We use the shape of our brush to create it and there is just one layer. Cerries are also made of one layer. I just added more paint on the bottom.

2018-01-18 (8).png

This kind of painting is fun. You can paint simple objects quite fast and easily. Kids can also improve their skills and try to work with the brush more, make softer layers and use preferable paper.

If you like this tutorial and want some more, try also Watercolor peony buds painting tutorial. It is not that easy, but really detailed.

Thanks for watching!

 
 

Follow me on Steemit

Facebook Instagram Youtube

#thealliance

Sort:  

Dear Artist ! This post has been resteemed and upvoted from FineArtNow account ! Become our friend ! See you soon !

awesome, it's a great help, soon I'll upload a post applying your tips:)

Thank you, I like your tutorial. It will be great to try to draw so with my children

Oh, I really like your paintings!
I always wanted to try watercolors but I've never been able to get my hands over it
But I'm sure that when I get the chance to try watercolors I'll remember your tips
Thanks :)

This gave me a lot of ideas. Thank you!

Very fun idea! This would also be a great warm-up exercise, to get the feel of a new brush or new paints.
Speaking of which, I'm in the market for some new paints... do you have a couple of favorite palattes you could recommend?

you are right, as a training of strokes, new brushes and so on..
I must say, I dont :) I love to try new things...

i love the final result, i wish u could do more flowers, i think they would look amazing done by you, i just love flowers .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57889.17
ETH 3155.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42