🔵 PAINT GEMSTONE with Marty - tutorial

in #art7 years ago

Hello friends, everytime when I want to paint I search for inspiration. Nowadays I focus on watercolor more than on other techniques, so I try to find some good template.

Today I wanted to use smaller paper parts from the previous painting when I needed unusual format. I decided to paint this gemstone. It is a nice thing to paint, quite easy and can be small too. The paper has about 8cm.

9458.jpg

If you want, you can try to paint it too. You will need only some smaller watercolor piece of paper, watercolors, pencil, thin round brushes and water.

🔵 STEP 1

First we need to draw an outline. Use sharp pencil, we need the line to be thin. I started from the top. Try to catch all angles right.

20170829_144154.jpg

🔵 STEP 2

We can start to paint. First just light basic colors. It is mostly blue, but at the top use a little bit of light green. It will mix into turquoise.

20170829_144516.jpg

🔵 STEP 3

You can use indigo or prussian blue to paint the darker parts. Colors should create transitions, but make also some parts sharp to show the stone structure.

20170829_145043.jpg

🔵 STEP 4

Add darker blue at the edges. You can try also mix it with a small amount of black.

20170829_145944.jpg

🔵 STEP 5

Lighter parts can be painted with turquoise or azure blue. We can also start to paint veins on the dark parts with the top of the brush. Use dark blue with black.

20170829_150750.jpg

🔵 STEP 6

Veins on the top should be turqouise and they are connected through the sides.

20170829_153007.jpg

🔵 STEP 7

We can also ad more green on the top. If the edges are not bold enough, paint them with the strong dark blue. You can also left some bright space between, so it will look like a reflection.

20170829_154357.jpg

We can insert it into our sketch book, or into the frame....

20170829_154118.jpg

20170830_131258.jpg

I hope you get some inspiration and also try something like that :)

 
 

Follow me on Steemit

Facebook Instagram Youtube

Sort:  

Oh, such a beautiful work! Thanks for inspiration )

my pleasure :)

holy shit dude that looks dope

so nice colors!
Look at my blog, today I made pineapple object "ice and fire"))

At the first pictures it looks quite big, but then .. it's so small :) so cute :)
well done!

Gorgeous it looks like labourite my favourite

I know it more like labradorite, but yes, its also my favourite :)

Wow!,upvoted! ^ ^

ill be happy if you would check my work of drawing ^ ^

https://steemit.com/@cuteve

thanks, I upvoted you 3 posts.. really good drawings! I think you will be sucessful here :)

Happy to hear that ^ ^
Thank you <3

thank you!

resteemed

Gorgeous watercolour work, I would like to learn how to do it, maybe I just need to practice :)

thanks, yes, Im still practicing :D ...you can always learn something new

I thought I was drawing but I realize that I don't really do it, what good drawings you make, my God.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39