🔹 MY ART - Herons linocut - process

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello friends, let me share with you my latest linocut. It took 3 hours to cut out. It is in a size of A3.

20180428_163022.jpg

I was searching for some interesting photo and found this nice heron couple building a nest. I really love the composition and the theme. First I wanted to paint in in watercolors, but I realised linocut would be also a good choice. So I turned the photo into black and white to see it better and started to draw.
original photography

2018-04-29.png

The process

First I drew the picture on a paper and cut it out. It is easier to have a pattern, because I draw with a pen on a lino.

20180428_104811.jpg

After drawing the outlines I added some details too.

... and I started with cutting. I used cheap cutting tool with three extensions.

I was not sure about the background, so I came up with it when I was cutting. I wanted to create a moon behind the birds, but it seemd to me too ordinary. So I made it a little more interesting.

20180428_125353.jpg

There were some bigger white spots, but the lino is too soft, so I had to cut the whole areas out.

20180428_140045.jpg

Now the printing. I dont have a press machine, so I used feet :D

20180428_141924.jpg

And my favourite part. It is probably the most interesting thing about printing when you can see for the first time what have you created.

ezgif.com-video-to-gif.gif

I used different ink colors and also different oclored papers.

20180428_143958.jpg

20180428_163030.jpg

20180428_143918.jpg

 

Thanks for watching!

 
 

Follow me on Steemit

Facebook Instagram Youtube

#thealliance

Sort:  

you are painting with full feelings, your eyebrows look very alive, as if they were real animals, not just paintings

Hello dear, your posts are always incredible.... This came out really good; it's a thumbs up from me

thanks so much :)

You're welcome

very nice:) and very interesting:) I love to watch videos of how to do such things:)))

Especially great looks in red

You got a 1.23% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @marty-arts!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

This is really lovely.

That's fantastic! Very well done.

Really good piece of art 👏

Wow, the details are impressive. I'm glad you decided to add a little something extra, rather than just a plain round moon in the background. There's a lot going on, but it just makes it interesting, not too busy, which I think is a pretty difficult balance to achieve sometimes.

I especially like the red/white and the black/brown ones.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43