🔹 MY ART - Daenerys from Game of Thrones - drawing in Photoshop - tutorial (8 hours work)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone :) Here you are my last digital drawing of Mother of dragons with process.

Daenerys 5.jpg

I was not very confident about drawing a portrait in Photoshop. In fact, this is just my third portrait. The first two were not very hilarious, but I am quite pleased with this one :) So, if you are interested and want to try to draw a portrait too, I can give you some tips how to do it.

And I must say, I am not an expert with a work in Photoshop. I used only three types of brushes in various sizes, different opacity and colors. It is similar to painting on canvas.

First I prepared an outline. Just basic shapes and layout. It is better to use some gray or brown color with a small opacity.

Then I created another layer under the first one and filled the face and hair with the basic colors. It is better to choose a shade between the real color in each area. It should be neither too dark nor pale.

I started with the eyes, but it is up to you what to choose. I wanted the eyes to be more detailed so I did more work in the iris.

On a new layer I started to shade an area around the eyes. It can be easier for you to start shading the whole face at once, because you will not miss the right skin tone.

I was moving through the face and softly added the shadows. I used a very high opacity, about 4%, so the transitions were smooth. The eyebrows are also on a new layer. There is a small shadow under the strokes.

I think the lips were most difficult to draw. There are lots of different color tones in the small areas, little splits and reflections. I used short strokes and lower opacity to make a reflection.

The chain was quite easy to draw. There is just a dark gray under from one side. From the other side a light causes a white reflection. Above all there are round strokes highlighted by a dark fields.

There are darker and lighter areas under the thin expressive lines of hair. Above all there are also a strong white eflections. You can see them also aournd the eyes, on lips and nose. The face looks more alive then.

I wanted to draw the same background as on the template, but I realised it can be nicer with color reminds of flames. Therefore I also boosted contrast and a color temperature.

Webp.net-gifmaker (1).gif

 

Thanks for watching!

 

 

Follow me on Steemit

Facebook Instagram Youtube

Sort:  

You are one of the best artists on steemit, hands down.

oh, thanks so much :))

thank you :) ... my favourite character, good job!

pleasure is all mine

Coming along nicely, beautiful job! Except for the eyebrows and eye color, the portrait could pass as a self-portrait :)

Amazing! Such detail!

ilike it, upped for you
please check my last post

Nice portrait! Love the process as well. I can never do any portraits on Photoshop, but this is wonderfully done.

Amazing work ! love the colors and details great work your are the best :)

thank you so much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84