🔵 ART JOURNAL - How to create it? - tutorial

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hello mates, I have noticed lots of beautiful art jorunals around the internet and I really wanted to create some on my own, but when I started, I just realized how useless it is for me to do it the way I saw it.

20170925_104928 1.jpg

When you look at all those nice pages from art journals on google pictures you will notice they are more like beautiful pieces of art than just tests of colors, structures, strokes, lines and so on. I mean, you need some time to create something like that.

2017-09-25.png

My art journal is more functional and not as compicated. I would like to share with you the process of creating.

What is Art jorunal?

First of all we need to know what is it and why would we need it. Art journal is a kind of notebook and as the name suggests it is a personal book where you can write, draw and so on. You don´t have to share it with anybody, it is yours. You can write down your creative ideas here, draw sketches, try new colors, new techniques, stamps... You can write down some art procedures, catch your progress, or as I do - put inside your smaller art works.

478.jpg

How to create it?

Your art journal doesn´t have to be expensive. You can buy a notebook without lines in any size you want, in any quality you want. I would recommend you to buy some with thicker paper and string bond. There is also a possibility to create your own book as I did. You can find some tutorials on YouTube and try.

If you buy it you can decorate it as you want - painting, collage, scrapbooking...

Filling

There are more ways to fill your art journal. You can paint the background as you please and draw/write on it. You can cut the letters out of the magazines and stick them into it. Or you can just write on the white pages and put your drawings/paintings into it. I do it this way because I use different types of the paper. If you want you can then decorate the page with some pattern.

74.jpg

Art journal is a great way of storing your small art works and art supplies tests. Many of the pieces I published here on Steemit are in my art journal. I have them together on one place and it also looks nice.

I made also some sketches and I didn´t want to throw them away, so I cut them and place them in. You can use also failed art paper cutouts and create something new.

20170925_105121.jpg

20170925_105104.jpg

Some artists also write quotes inside of their art journal, or the list of gratitudes, list of feelings, dreams, day events and so on.

20170925_104947.jpg

You can be as much creative as you want!

 

Thanks for watching!

 
 

Follow me on Steemit

Facebook Instagram Youtube

Sort:  

That's a cool way to track your art ideas and very organized
Since most of my art is digital photos I keep an electronic journal 📓

Thanks for sharing your art journal with us ;-) okay.png

Loved the idea! maybe I'll make one for my notes that are scattered here and there!

Very interesting makes me want to make one.

I also use mine for practicing techniques or testing ideas that I want to use on my other art projects. Its a fun place to play 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.49
ETH 2617.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39