Niflheim I - original painting

in #art7 years ago

Oils on canvas, diptych, depicting Niflheim, the realm of mist in Norse mythology. 2x 24x30cm.

Niflheim_I.jpg

Original painting not available.

From Wikipedia:

Niflheim (or Niflheimr) ("Mist Home", the "Abode of Mist" or "Mist World", is one of the Nine Worlds and is a location in Norse mythology which sometimes overlaps with the notions of Niflhel and Hel.

Niflheim was primarily a realm of primordial ice and cold, with the frozen rivers of Élivágar and the well of Hvergelmir, from which come all the rivers. According to Gylfaginning, Niflheim was one of the two primordial realms, the other one being Muspelheim, the realm of fire. Between these two realms of cold and heat, creation began when its waters mixed with the heat of Muspelheim to form a "creating steam". Later, it became the abode of Hel, a goddess daughter of Loki, and the afterlife for her subjects, those who did not die a heroic or notable death.

Creating Steam (steem?), anybody?

Thanks for watching & upvoting, much appreciated!

Sort:  

very nice

Amazing work! Would love to see some details. For example: Are those trees at the bottom of the right painting?

And here you go! :)

nifI_dt1.jpg

nifl_dt2.jpg

nifl_dt3.jpg

Thanks @shortcut! And yeah, now that you mention them: those could be trees, I never considered that - but if you see them in there, then that's what they are :) Awesome to see my painting getting interpretations I've never seer before, thanks!

Thanks a lot for the beautiful closeups :-) I know exactly what you're talking about. It's always nice to get to know your own artworks with the help of the viewers. You definitely have created a piece, that lets some space for imagination here ;-)

My pleasure and thanks man, it only makes the original richer, for me as the artist as well as for the spectator! DId the painting arrive yet, by the way?

The painting didn't arrive yet. Can't wait and will let you definitely know, when it's here :-)

Oh dang, I should have checked this post before replying to the mystery man thread... I went into Hindu mythology there... but this right here would have made the perfect setting.

Ah well. Gotta stick with it now :D

Hey, no worries :) But, now that you mention it, maybe I should've kept this painting for the interactive installment nr. 3. And speaking of which, I have a similar one to this I could post. Hah, serendipity, gotta love it!

Great mood! Any chance you have it available in any desktop sizes?

Thanks! This is a low res version, what's your desktop resolution in pixels?

Right now its 2560x1440

I had to crop it a bit, and blow it up, so it may not be tack sharp anymore,
anyway, here you go :)

nifl_I_1440x2560.jpg

Awesome thank you!

Beautiful painting in my eyes clouds under the mountains

Thank you, any interpretation is fair - clouds under mountains is a realm of mist as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45