From the archives: original painting, 50x70cm

in #art6 years ago

Original painting, oils on canvas, 50x70cm.

WP_2018_soml.jpg

This is a bit of a weird painting (even by my standards!), one of a few weird ones that I made. Sometimes, I'm not sure if or when a painting's finished, so I'll leave it hanging around my workplace, sometimes take it in the house and listen to the reactions of my girlfriend and kids. This was a painting that I would give one or a few layers more, but my girlfriend spotted it and said it was awesome.

Now you don't argue with that, do you? Anyway, it has been hanging in the house for a few years now, and over time, I have agreed with her and leave it the way it is.

It's weird, it's finished in it's unfinishedness, it's strange and it appeals to the imagination. So it has everything a good painting needs. Except for a title, but I really don't want to steer anybody in a particular direction, and leave this as open to interpretation as possible.

So, how do you interpret it?
Thanks for looking and commmenting!

Sort:  

It's landscape, I think.

It's that uninishedness that I like so much, because it leaves my imagination free to fly ;) Excellent, as usual ^_^

Yeah, it's always a difficult moment: deciding when to stop. I usually tend to overwork a bit, so stopping way before that moment makes this one fall into the weird-category: when the urge to work further isn't over yet :)

Thanks!

Congratulations @marty-art! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63578.99
ETH 2611.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85