Throwing bottles inspired by Simon Leach

in #art7 years ago (edited)

bottles 

) [bottles]


After watching Simon Leach's  post on making ceramic bottles I decided to give it a try. The first attempt did not quite succeed, I had to cut it short twice.  The second, third and fourth went ok. 

And then I made several mistakes. The weather was warm and sunny, it made me lazy and the clay dried faster than I anticipated, so I was too late to 'paddle' them like Simon shows here.

() [trim]

Well, round bottles are nice too. But because they are quite heavy I try to trim them. Second mistake. I used nice old soft reclaimed clay for this project. I kept the clay in an old tea towel. So my trimming tools kept hitting small pieces of fabric. They will burn out, but trimming is not a good idea.

 I sit them upside down in a master piece I made one day and trim the bottom. Unfortunately I did not lift the bottle out high enough before moving it toward me and I crushed the neck.  Voilà a very short bottle was born.

)

Of course I will keep practicing and the next batch will be lighter and taller and square. Perhaps..



Sort:  

Congratulations @marina.kleijerij! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @marina.kleijerij! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hey well done ! yes you need to hold them back from drying too much if the weather is warm or dry. Just a piece of plastic to cover will do. Then you can paddle/alter them. Keep practicing !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19