You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Animation - What is it, really? And why you should care.

in #art6 years ago

I've had little bits of exposure to animation all of my life because my mom had these little flip books that when you held the book by the page edges and let them fly, like with a deck of cards, you could see the characters move!! My mom was very fond of illustrations and drawing.

And then of course there were shows by the Disney company that taught us all about the new industry.

Personally, I would love to understand the VR animations !!

Enjoyed your read very much.

Sort:  

ooohhh flipbooks are the best! ♡
so much work as well O_O
You know, those Disney videos are pretty outdated by now but they're still so much fun to watch. The most interesting thing, I find, is that technology might have evolved, but the principles of the art form have stayed the same. They were true trailblazers, inventing a totally new art form basically from scratch, discovering what works and what doesn't by trial and error.
Every animator needs to be grateful to Walt in my opinion, because we're truly standing on the shoulders of those who came before us. ♡

Unfortunately I don't know much about how VR is done myself yet! but again, the animation principles will still be the same, it's the technology around it that changes.
What I find so fascinating with VR is that the medium completely throws every standing rule of composition and audience focusing out of the window because there is no "fixed" frame anymore!
Story tellers will have to find new ways of leading the audiences eyes in a world where they can look wherever they like.
what a challenge!

I'm super happy you enjoyed it ♡
check back from time to time, if you like, I will be posting more animation related things bit by bit.
it will be spread between my art posts, because the animation related content takes so much longer to write haha

All the best, thanks for reading! ♡

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53