Water Lilies - original office art by @mariandavp

in #art7 years ago

Today, I tried to find out myself what is going on with

Water Lilies

Why do so many artists obsess over them? Everyone in the western world knows Monet's Water Lilies series, but in the Eastern world water lilies hold a prominent position in art as well. Chinese artists throughout the centuries have depicted these flowers in a million ways.

This is an office artwork and completely experimental. I used pens and markers and highlighters and my usual work scrap book.

What I found out; Water lilies are not easy to draw. Abstract art can serve me better in their depictions rather than solid lines. They are complex beings...their presence in water makes them look temporary and fragile, but their image imprint is permanent. They look heavy but they magically float as if they are feathers.

They are a very good reflection of feelings.

They are beautiful and I look forward to paint them with acrylics on canvas.

Sort:  

Magnificent! One of my very favourite so far, they are uplifting and full hope in spite of all odds. Thanks for sharing with us again, namaste :)

Really? And I had second thoughts about posting them! I did feel in a similar way when I drew them, for water lilies in general though. Thank you Eric, namaste :)

Spiritually comforting. Nice!

Thanks a lot!

Nature is one of the most interesting thing ever, I like your water lillies

Indeed it is, a lot of beauty in it... Thank you!

Thank you very much!!

Very nice. Lilies always remind me of Buddhism.

@shayne

Thanks, yes indeed they do carry Buddha in them.

Well, I guess everything carries Buddha, right? lol

@shayne

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51