The Scorpion's Song - original artwork and poem by @mariandavp

in #art8 years ago (edited)

The Scorpion’s Song

You run down my road,
You know no limits.
Everything changes
I’m counting minutes.
I ask

Do you want me?

You tell me you’re scared
Your voice is a knife
And I won’t be spared.
I’d shout I’ll leave you!
But I know you won’t turn.
What once was a diamond
Is now just a man.

Sometimes he’s a scorpion,
He bites
No regrets
I hope you like poison;
That's as good as he gets.

Naked and cold,
I fall to the floor.
Happy and full,
You’ll head to the door.

Don’t cry... I’ll be back!
You sing as you leave
Two scars on my body
Forever to bleed.

This is my third post on my art representations of women in anticipation, a series of paintings that were sold out. This painting is also a self portrait, made with acrylics on canvas (60x80cm) and was sold to a private collector

Sort:  

Enjoyed, upvoted, I also do art and poetry, check it out if you have a chance @beginningtoend

Very interesting work! I followed you, thanks.

Might I ask if the order in which you are presenting this series here is the same as the order in which you painted them?

Sure, the order is chronological.

May I look forward to a catharsis?

Oh well I haven't painted a catharsis yet... maybe I should. I shouldn't condemn them in eternal torture!

Well then, how about if I commission a "catharsis" painting? Only stipulation is that it flows from the rest of the series and is in the "Marianda" style (an "M" on it please, lower left or lower right). Half payment in advance, half upon posting a picture here on steemit of the finished painting. Please e-mail me with your requirements if you agree.

Thank you very much for the offer, we'll exchange thoughts offline...

Great painting, great poem. Keep up the good work.
💋 @halo 💋😇

Thank you! I haven't forgotten the Halo Girl Contest, I'll try to work on something decent tomorrow...

Can't wait to see your entry
💋 @halo 💋😇

You are very talented, both as a painter and poet. Beautiful works. Following you now.

Thank you, likewise (I read your last poem). Followed you too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66094.73
ETH 3446.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66