The Black Ribbon; how to make a Short Film in 2 hours and have a blast!

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Last night I had dinner at Geonas, one of the best restaurants in the northern suburbs of Athens, owned by three brothers who also happen to be wonderful artists.

Lately I have developed a niche as a Steemit evangelist in the Greek art scene so I have convinced two of the brothers, Geo the Actor and Nectarios the Photographer, to join our crypto world and share their art with the community. They are still checking out the registration process and how this crypto world works, but in the meantime I will make a couple of posts on them with material they have provided to me to assist with their introduction.

So today I am making a Geo special. Geo has just finished shooting for a Greek film that's going to premiere in Greek cinemas in November by one of the biggest distributors in Greece Odeon. Despite his good and kind looks, his role is a bad ass villain searching for The Blue Queen. I was surprised he got a part like that, but surprisingly Geo has an edge in being a tough guy.

ptzo4-2.jpg

A few years ago, after a long night at Geonas he and a couple of friends decided to film the short film The Black Ribbon in the middle of the night. In fact it took them two hours and a few cigarettes.

To be honest I haven't seen anyone smoking so many cigarettes in two hours, but I guess the character had an old fashioned aura around him, Clint Eastwood like. I print screened a few scenes with the character smoking to give you an example.

ptzo5-2.jpg

ptzo3-2.jpg

ptzo2-2.jpg

ptzo-2.png

The film, which was a film noir, was shot in a very clever and arty manner; I would have never imagined it was shot with one camera and in such speed, but in the end... it's all about aesthetics.

Black and White, high contrast but low exposure provide the necessary noir atmosphere

Αmazing contre plongée shots of Geo, give him strength and determination.

Perfect montage in the end with the right soundtrack enhance the viewers' experience.

To sum it all up, making a short film and enjoy the process and the result.... takes good taste, nice attitude and freedom to express yourself. You can watch the movie below, mostly for academic reasons (because it's in Greek).

I hope you will like this post and with your upvotes you will welcome Geo onboard.

Sort:  

I love b&w film!

Μe too, very artistic..

i too am planning to start filming vere shortly.. lets grow together 🌱🌳 this post made me happy 😊 upvoted and resteemed 👍🏼

I am really glad you enjoyed this! All the best and success with your film, please keep us posted!

I'm glad that you were able to get your siblings over on to the platform.
Too bad I don't understand the language but the macro and arty shots make up for it with the many intricate angles.
I wasn't expecting that last scene haha
It is pretty good to be honest! :)

Thanks very much @arckrai! I wasn't expecting the last scene either 😊

Followed and upvoted!)

I did not understand the language but still I enjoyed the film. I welcome the makers of the film to steemit.

That's very nice of you @shirish5! Thank you!

Good for you. I hope you enjoy the time with your family.

Thanks @melowd! They are family, I am just a friend to them though I know them a really long time, same neighborhood, same school etc.

Great comment. Keep it up. Are you also into art?

Upvoted & Resteemed!

Thank you very much @coolgirl!

Your welcome! <3

Wow, very intersting! Thank you! :)

Thank you for viewing @vysmek!

Geo looks like a badass with that hat and the way he smokes. looking forward to welcoming him on steemit and wishing him success in November when the movie premiers. Thank you for sharing :)

Haha he does!!! Thank you very much (on behalf of Geo as well) @practicaleric! 🌷🌹

Wow!!! Interesting film
Thanks for sharing

Τhank you very much @leobliss!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64259.11
ETH 3172.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56