Floating - original painting by @mariandavp

in #art8 years ago (edited)

JUST FINISHED!

My 2nd painting for 2017 is more of an abstract experiment than my expected style.

I worked on an old canvas where I had left unfinished a portrait of myself lying down. I never finished it, I left it on the side for about 5 years until today. I was almost in the same emotional state as then; eager to depict someone who is sleeping away her days until an unfortunate event becomes more of an old memory or even a dream but in a quite good mood in order to use vivid colors.

I guess I am not the only one who does this - prefer to dream rather than experience life sometimes... when life becomes too unbearable. Of course there is nothing unbearable, we hide enormous power and strength in both our bodies and souls to endure everything, but the fear of experiencing pain leads us into denial and avoidance.

Thank God for art, one can capitalize on any experience and turn it into an artwork. I wanted the feeling created by my artwork to resemble the feeling of my office art so I used fast brush strokes and quite contrasting colors.

The painting is bigger than it looks... 80cm x 60 cm and I've painted it using acrylics. It took 3,5 hours.

These are photos from the process.

Sort:  

It has an understandable lull to it, deep compassion and mirky soul's waters always willing to take the side of love.

It is a very beautiful piece, thank you so very much for sharing this new piece with us all. Namaste :)

Eric with such nice comments it's impossible for me to retaliate or thank you enough! The other time I wanted to congratulate you for your wonderful post and my comment was so dull compared to yours! 😂😂

Everything comes in time when the time is ripe. No worries, thank you for the very kind intentions and thoughts shared through this last and very beautiful note. Merci beaucoup! Namaste :)

This.....Is.....Awesome!!! Unbelievable job lady:)

Thank you my Steemit friend 😉

Exquisite art! ☆☆☆☆☆😎

Many thanks Michael!!!

You're welcome. ♡

This is very impressive​ work! Very nice! I like it a lot!

Vielen Dank! 😉

I really like this, nice artwork.

I am glad you like it, thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48