Dream Boulevard - office art by @mariandavp

in #art7 years ago (edited)

This morning as I was driving downtown to work, I noticed a man in a suit walking on the right side of the road.

He was walking fast, but his head was slightly bending down - he was looking at the asphalt. He seemed lost in his thoughts. Thoughts that fell heavy on his shoulders which were also leaning to to the floor. I thought it would be great if the birds flying above us, came to lift this invisible weight off his shoulders.

As I passed him by, he seemed to realize I was looking at him and snapped out of it in a second with a rapid move of the upper body to straighten his core.

I see many men like him every day in the office In Greece people have losy their capacity to dream and hope. They just work and work and work, not for money or a better quality of life, but mainly out of the need for stability.

I imagined this man being offered a job in a cosmopolitan city and singing New York, New York as he enters a land of opportunity.

2017-10-17 16.27.00-1-1.jpg

_For today's office art I used pens, markers and highlighters. _

20171017_111044.jpg

Sort:  

The best way to keep your hopes and dreams alive is by staying away from the big cities! So much light pollution you cant even see the stars at night, in my version he turns and runs away! :)

I see many men like him every day in the office In Greece people have losy their capacity to dream and hope. They just work and work and work, not for money or a better quality of life, but mainly out of the need for stability.

Sad, but true.

I love how you care for people and imagine a life of opportunity for this man in New York.

Ι think that if we all wished the best for others, even people we don't know, the best would come.

You are so sweet.

Many people are like that men, and unfortunately they can't make a move, they can't take the " risk " ; they feel so responsible for their family... but as on your drawing, at the end they should see the light and go for it. It only takes courage, and only means a lot.

Ιt takes your mentality "live life fullest" to take the first step towards a road of high risk -high reward 😉

Sadly, many are just working to barely survive atm in Greece. And many don't even have the "privilege" of working...I am just glad I am not one of them, at least not for now...

Beautiful art like always :*

Ι don't think you'll ever be, but it shows your quality as a person to be humble like this. Thank you @trumpman.

It came out amazing

You contributed to that too!

At least there are people that even by passing by them, make them straighten up!

Sweet 😊😊😊😊😊

I think I understand what it means to be in such situation..people are working as teachers even when they are not burn teachers they can't even impact. The just keep doing it cause it's all the have.
Down here in Nigeria you see graduates being bike men because of lack of opportunities. Life is really difficult especially in most countries that has no good working opportunities

I bet Nigeria's reality is even more challenging than we know, but I honestly believe that this country has a better upside down the road than any european one.

Hope is all we've got

Very nice paint! Reminds me of a cover from a book of Balzac orThomas Mann.

Τhank you! I wish it does become a book cover one day 😊

Definitely feeling your words through this work, let's hope a land of opportunity awaits him.

Τhanks sweet @opheliafu 🌹

Never stop dreaming and working for a better a life!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46