Come Back... Video creation combining poetry by C.P. Cavafy and artwork by @mariandavp

in #art7 years ago

Today I received a beautiful e-mail with a surprise attached.

My friend Marios had created a video for one of the most passionate poems by C. P. Cavafy, Come Back, and used Elli Lambeti performance for voice cover and one of my artworks as image cover.

I have sold this painting a very long time ago, so I was glad to be reminded of its existence somewhere out there and even happier to see that it had inspired Marios to combine it with such a great poem.

I did some slight montage and added English subtitles so you can watch it if you wish. I love Cavafy, so there was nothing better to start and end my day with.

Come back often and take hold of me,
sensation that I love come back and take hold of me
when the body’s memory awakens
and an old longing again moves into the blood,
when lips and skin remember
and hands feel as though they touch again.

Come back often, take hold of me in the night
when lips and skin remember...

[Translated by Edmund Keeley/Philip Sherrard]

Sort:  

Wonderful. Deep inside.. great video...thanks to Marios also..

Thank you very much @indiantraveller! I'm trying to convince him to come onboard...

Apla deixtou to payout reward ! :)

Ειχες δικιο, μου ειπε οτι θα γραφτει. 😂

amazing work as always :)

Very kind...as always! Thank you!

Wonderful work @mariandavp! :)

Thank you very much @steemit-life!

You are very welcomed @mariandavp:)

Very meaningful poem! Loved the artwork too :)
Happy for you @mariandavp

Thank you very much @aishwarya, you are very sweet!

I like the poem, very touching and sensitive

Glad you do, you can find Cavafy's poems translated in English here:

http://www.cavafy.com/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66739.21
ETH 2594.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70