You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Moonlit Dystopia" | Entry for Art Explosion Contest hosted by @juliakponsford

in #art6 years ago

This is GREAT! Love the grunge moonlit feel. I had no clue that cityscapes could be generated like this! How long does it take to render one of these?

Sort:  

Thank you! =) Well, it depends on your resolution and also a few settings. This one didn't take long at all (just under 25 minutes) because I only rendered it at 2600x1950 and the single formula is a simple one.

More often than not, though, my renders take from 2 to 8 hours. And more if I'm using reflections/transparency.

Congrats on earning a special mention!

Yeah, 25 minutes does not sound bad. So I assume you have a rendering computer and another one for work? I understand the pains fo waiting for an 8 hour render. I've ruined many a system because of it, lol.

Sorry for late reply! Sadly, no, I only have my one machine.

Indeed, I've also learnt the hard way by burning two CPUs before realising the temperature it gets to while rendering fractals! ... I now have a super fan on my CPU, and 3 other system fans.

I truly wish I could afford another machine though. That would easily double my productivity.

Omg. Newfound respect. I honestly thought you were rendering on another system. Gosh, yeah, the cooling fan helps but it still messes with your system. We need new ways to render stuff.

Thank you! =) Well, it depends on your resolution and also a few settings. This one didn't take long at all (just under 25 minutes) because I only rendered it at 2600x1950 and the single formula is a simple one.

More often than not, though, my renders take from 2 to 8 hours. And more if I'm using reflections/transparency.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60526.80
ETH 2335.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53