You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Native American Style Beadwork

in #art7 years ago

Brother! Nicely done. Two things I see here. 1.] you tried to bead that is the first thing. it is not as easy as it looks and there are many ways to bead and 2.] the stray red bead should have been on purpose. It is the bead for the weaver. every piece I ever do has an imperfection purposely placed into it. sometimes it is a glaring mistake other times it is not so noticeable but it will always be there. There are many legends of the weaver across the world in many cultures but they all have a similar motif. So i make sure none of my pieces are "perfect"

Sort:  

I'm glad you found this post! I thought about you and this post when I saw your beadwork. Yes, beading is difficult and very time consuming. Also, I did not use a loom. I kept the sage burning while beading and smudged all of the material, giving thanks for each piece. I gifted this to a friend after he took care of my dog when I went into the hospital while on a trip. A-ho, thank you for the comment!

This piece is lazy stitch applique no loom needed. the technique is definitely the easiest to start with but allows limited control over the beads. But I love the piece none the less. If I would receive a piece such as that I would wear it with pride.

Thank you. I appreciate your kind words. Honestly, I have not beaded anything else since I finished this piece. The patience of the Old Ones must have been infinite, especially considering the tools they had to work with. The number of hours alone in the beading of the modern regalia for a fancy dancer is staggering. It is truly an art.

also think at the time metal needles were not common.. the would often use bone......

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60085.46
ETH 2416.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43