Anthropomorphic figures (dolls)

in #art7 years ago

anthro.jpg

These are two of a series I'm slowly working on, they were for an exhibition that ended up being canceled.

anthro2.jpg

I really love letting my mind follow the needle as these are freeform in that I just started hand stitching cloth and one thing led to another to end up with large bird like figures. The textiles being used are all vintage and the wonderful eyes are actually Whitby Jet ball buttons from the 1860s. They are very posable and fun to pose and play with.

I hope you enjoyed this little work in progress peek.

<3

Sort:  

They remind me of plague drs! Something I've always been fascinated with! Like the art of one of my faves Hieronymus Bosch!

I also like plague doctors. I made that connection when I saw these pictures initially, but am super excited to see the end result!! I actually am going to be ordering my plague doctor mask soon too!!
💛💚💙💜❤🌛🌞🌜❤💜💙💚💛

Oooh love those! I have a hooded mask!!

Could you make a post about it and tag me in it!? I wana see!
💛💚💙💜❤🌛🌞🌜❤💜💙💚💛

With Halloween just around the corner I just might!

You and me both, I LOVE Bosch so much. I have had a few other people make that correlation with the plague doctors.. and I'm alright with it. ;)

Oh good you know Bosch too! Doesn't surprise me haha 💜 I have always been fascinated by plague drs, my grandfather, who was Italian, used to tell us so much about them!

Your grandfather sounds awesome! ;)

They were shipped out of Sicily for dubious behavior (they ran brothels and sold adulterated coffee) the only country that would take them was Mexico and they continued living there and moved back to Italy and Spain until recently. He truly was one of the most interesting persons I will ever know <3

True Rebels... My favorite! This is yet another connecting factor between us. <3

Here's to the crazy ones. The misfits. The rebels. The troublemakers. The round pegs in the square holes. The ones who see things differently. They're not fond of rules. And they have no respect for the status quo. You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify or vilify them. About the only thing you can't do is ignore them. Because they change things. They push the human race forward. And while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius. Because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do.
― Rob Siltanen

So much YES!

Btw.. you are next week on the new channel.. eeeeee. <3

P.S. Do you have a bio you want us to read at the top of the show?

They feel like they have a mission. Love, love, love them! <3

hhehehehe, I think they feel that way too. <3

Can't wait to see it done 😱
💛💚💙💙💜❤🌛🌞🌜❤💜💙💚💛

:) You always make me smile. <3

That is my goal here 😊
💛💚💙💜❤🌛🌞🌜❤💜💙💚💛

Oooh creepy, I love it!

hehehehe, I love your feedback. :)

Thank you kindly @emptyintentions

Great work, @mamadini ! I couldn't image how beautiful will be the final result!! Well done!

Thank you for the beautiful feedback @silviabeneforti <3

Congratulations @mamadini! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61029.99
ETH 3375.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48