Pixel art illustrations

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Hey folks

Today I bring you some pixel art I have made out a of a series of runic magic stones.

I picked up this method up a while ago from a Noah Bradley video. The idea isnt so much to make perfect game ready pixel art but rather look at it as a way to break your art down into the basic bits. Doing this every once in a while I find is good as your forced away from smooth lighting or easy brush work.

I make these at a size of around 300x100px depending on how wide I want the canvas. I then zoom in to about 300% and start painting things in, once done I screenshot it and save at the larger size to show the details better.

Stone of wisdom large

Here is what it looks like at 100%
Stone of wisdom small

I have found the larger size you see above a bit too revealing in its pixel size so future pieces should look somehwere between the two.

Converting pieces

Here is a piece I had painted a while back and then chose to convert down into pixel style.
It should give you an idea of what I mean about simplifying things.

IllustratedPixel
Trials artworkTrials artwork

Small things like the feather on the mans helmet had to be changed to make more sense, colors were simplified and made a bit more vibrant.

I have more of these in the works, one currently that has been giving me some trouble. If you would like to watch me fight with this one you can do so on my twitch channel twitch.tv/sirmadjack

I dont have a set schedule of when I stream so you should follow me to make sure you dont miss it ;).

Thanks for taking a look.

You can find me on

Dribble - Artstation - Twitter

Sort:  

Very nice art, The pixel art style takes me back to the 80's and the good old video games.

Really good job

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64781.14
ETH 3119.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53