Creature Creation ProgresssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago

Hello Steemers.

I was informed that I should post some of my art on here and rather than just giving final pieces to look at I figured I would show a bit of the progress/steps that goes into making one of my creatures.

Lets make a creature

First I start out with a sketch (using my cintiq). I saw an angry mushroom looking thing in my travels and decided I wanted a little creature that would live on the forest floor.

Color Blocking

Then I block in the sections using high contrast colors so I can keep everything visible and still match the lines.

Setting up base colors

Once I have everything blocked out that I want I color in an environment background with very basic lighting and set the actual colors.

Lighting and Texture

Now I start to add texture and more lighting on both the creature and the background.

Final rendering work

Finish it off with extra fine details and more lighting work, tweak some small things and I am done.

Thanks for taking a look.

You can find me on

Dribble - Artstation - Twitter

Sort:  

Very nice work, how do you change the "high contrast colors" to the colors you are looking for? and what is a "Cintiq"?

Thanks. Where I do the base block layers as vector shapes in photoshop I can just click on them and change to whatever color value I want, after that my texturing/lighting work is done with clipping masks to that base shape.

A Cintiq is my drawing tablet that I use. Wacom makes it, i have the 13" model

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28