My latest painting with process documentation

in #art7 years ago

KportraitFace.JPG


Here's a portrait of a young artist sitting outside the coffee shop. It is done in oil on Arches oil paper, and was painted in the playful, impressionistic style that I favor for such works. You may recognize the subject as @kooks88.

Here is the initial paint sketch in raw umber with a couple bits of color added. I used a picture taken with my phone as a reference. @kooks88 was not at all enthusiastic about having this picture taken, but was happy enough with how the painting turned out that I was given permission to post it here on Steemit as long as I tagged her.

With the initial sketch complete, I added a bunch of smears of primary color to fill in the space and start getting the work's overall feel established. All of this was done with a big round bristle brush and a little flat bristle brush.

Most of the actual color blending was done by adding linseed oil and pulling pigment off the smears of primaries already on the paper. Some additional umber and titanium white made adequate light and shadow tones.

For something that was done on a whim from a phone pic, the final work turned out okay. And, as always, every painting is good practice for the next one.
Sort:  

Outstanding artwork! Thank you for sharing.

Glad you think so, @michaelstobiersk: ) What good is art if it is not shared?

I agree. Art is meant to be viewed.

thats awesome... please see my post hope you like them

Great job.I have such a love/hate relationship to my work. It is inspiring to see people putting their work out on this platform. I wish you the best and thank you for sharing.

Resteeming because I like it... :)
Oil painting is very difficult for me...

Thanks, @tegoshei! Oil painting is definitely its own thing, and requires some time to learn. Personally, I like it more than watercolor or acrylic painting because it is easier to correct mistakes and very slowly blend colors with oils.

Wow!!! I admire you for that... I usually use watercolor or poster paints on my works.. ^^ I've several attempts on oil painting, but ends up in a mess.. hahah xD

This is what I like to see :) Thanks for showing the stages too <3

You're very kind, @alexwin. The many stages of even a simple painting like this are endlessly fascinating to me, and I'm happy to have a place like this to share them: )

I knew it was @kooks88 before even reading it! Really great!

Ha - perfect! Thanks, @vermillionfox: )

Now, what I'll have to do is paint a self portrait with an intense expression. You can name it, "The face I make when I play air hockey."

I knew immediately.. :) @mada, you are so humble, this is gorgeous! You conveyed something ineffable there, truly.

Glad you like it, @lovejoy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62952.44
ETH 2542.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65