My latest painting: process documentation + finished work

in #art8 years ago

Painting with oils on paper is totally different than painting on canvas or wood supports. It is far less expensive - a sheet of the Arches brand oil paper, which is what I prefer as it is designed for this use - costs about six bucks at the local nonprofit art supply shop. It is also fast and easy to use because it requires zero preparation beyond taping out your space so the finished work comes out with clean edges. Of course, it has some drawbacks, too. Like, it has to be framed to look okay as a saleable work and is a pain to mount properly. Heavy textures don't work on it, and it dries paint out a bit too quick for my liking. But sometimes, it is just the thing.


This is a painting I've been wanting to do for a while, but have been putting off because I didn't have the exact vision I wanted for it. This week, by whatever mysterious process governs these things, that vision showed up, so I got right to it.

First, I drew it out (sideways, so as not to trick myself about how the form should look and how well the composition was balanced) using old sketches and reference photos from a modeling session a couple of years ago.

Then I sketched it out with paint...

...and started really slopping the stuff around.

When it got near where I wanted it to be, I took some time off to just sort of sit around and look at it.

Finally, I put the finishing touches on it, and here is the result. Hope you like it!

Sort:  

Great progress session @mada! I haven't seen this. I'll have to have a look tomorrow night at the meet up!

Thanks! It might still be pretty wet tomorrow night, but I can totally bring this out to show it off.

Really really great piece:)

Thanks - I am happy with how it turned out, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57