Like father, like daughter

in #art7 years ago

These two are very special to me. The one on the top is mine and the one at the bottom is my father’s (he died when I was four). I made mine when was about sixteen or seventeen years old. At the time I had no idea of the one my father had made maybe about the same age, years and years ago. I was speechless to discover it in a pile of his old works. Will frame them both eventually. 

What is surprising to me  - similarities, brush strokes and choices for detail without knowing. Must be in our code. 

Have you ever noticed something like this with your parents?

----------------------------------------------

Song of the day: Moby - Extreme Ways
Thought of the day: When you think you can’t anymore, you actually can a little more
Tiny happiness of the day: After rainy day the sun actually came out of hiding


Sort:  

That would be very jarring if it happened to me.

My parents and I have similarities, but most of them are having I learned from observing them, such as listen to my music loud in my truck for a couple songs before I get out of my car when I come home.

What's funny is that your painting looks like an evolution of his, both in style and quality. Great job!

It was jarring. I stared at these two for a good hour before I could move on to something else that day.

Aww thank you :)

That has to be a priceless find. Congrats.

@old-guy-photos it is indeed priceless to me :)

Aww! Thank you for a virtual hug ^^

I once happened a photo of my myself pushing a child in a swing when I was about sixteen. I did a double take as I couldn't remember pushing a kid in a swing, and having a photo taken of that experience.

Turns out I was the kid in the photo,and my dad was pushing me. Know the feeling. Was uncanny.

Thank you for sharing this experience. We are all unique creatures, but so much is passed from our parents, we don't even realize it most of the time.

They are both nice, thanks for the back story.

I love the spaceship!!! Well done!

@bitatlas I love spaceships too, always have and always will. Space ships, shuttles and rockets. Thank you :)

I am Not Tinder :P

Well thank god you are not Tinder @Pinder. I guess. Hehe

This is absolutely priceless and beautiful. How lovely to have this keepsake.

My dad died a couple of years ago, he was an amazing man. I grew a lot after his death, and now I notice things about myself that I remember him talking to me about when I was younger.

Things that wouldn't necessarily mean a lot to anyone else...

Like, I have started playing the piano again. I haven't done so for around 20 years - but when I was young I completed all the grades and was very good. My dad always tried to get me to learn to play for fun, to make stuff up and use rhythms more freely... but I always thought the theory and classical learning I was doing was more important.

Now when I play, I find that all I want to do is play for joy, make stuff up and play around with rhythms... as he used to do when he was my age.

Lovely post, thank you. Followed. :)

Thank you for sharing your story. I am really glad to hear you have started playing again. Just like I have picked up pencils and papers again after years of doing nothing. It is good to keep little memories that are so special next to you at all times, because they make us stronger, they give us power to go and do things we have forgotten about. Thank you again. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63016.70
ETH 3028.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75