Street Art in Playa del Carmen, Mexico

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I found this amazing mural or street art today just wandering around, and I feel like it deserves a post dedicated just to "her" :) Those eyes are just exquisite, don't you think?!

httktk082v.png

But her lips are quite a different story altogether :)

02uaw9ckf3.png

Oh wait!! What lips?

m54258b59l.png

TEIK ONE doesn't translate into anything, but CULTURA CALLE translates to STREET CULTURE. So perhaps the first part is the artist's name?
7fxrpu8mt8.png

And just so you can fully grasp the size of this one, here is a photo from the street. Pretty amazing, right?! I think it is very stunning!

7dl94uozuu.png

Anyone want to take a stab at what the artist may have been thinking with this piece?

Sort:  

Haha that's a cool mural! It reminds me that I found several murals two weeks ago while walking through new parts (for me lol) of Budapest. Didn't post them yet.. gonna do that now haha..

Thanks to @anomadsoul making me "A whale for a day" by following my vote while he is traveling, my vote will be followed directly by his vote with the same percentage. So thanks to this you will receive a much higher upvote than I could give with my own Steem Power.

Have a great sunday!

Thank you so much for the vote from anomadsoul! I really appreciate it :) And I seem to be moving backwards because I saw your post a day or so ago and totally forgot to reply to comments on my own post lol

Haha well and now I'm in the same situation.. going through all my replies to reply to them.. because that weekend made sure I got behind on the commenting / replying.. and it was my pleasure throwing you a vote ;) lol

It's beautiful in its own way. I'm not an art critic but given the sky/"divine spark" above her head it seems to suggest the journey we all have: Born of "starstuff" and divine energy, we live a beautiful experience and then decay below.

I imagine "TEIK ONE" isn't anything more than a play on "take one," and whatever that may mean to the artist.

I really like that interpretation @denmarkguy! Thank you ;)

What I see:
By unraveling the veil we open our minds to be free to explore the universe, (heavens). We see the possibilities before our eyes.

The tighter we wrap the veil around us, the fewer the possibilities, thus we resort to eating of the lotus petals in hopes of catching a glimpse of what may be, only to find ourselves running down the path of destruction.

We see the hope, we see the despair.

Wow @bashadow, that's pretty good!! I like it :)

Beautiful eyes! I never do well interpreting art. Especially street art. But here I would say...don't underestimate me because of my beautiful eyes, I also have a beautiful mind and a fierce attitude

I love the eyes too @steven-patrick! And you could be onto something with your interpretation :)

beautiful street art wow , :)

Thank you so much @janan :)

I find it very scary to watch, I wonder what the artist was thinking while making this !

I wonder too!! It is kind of scary, isn't it? :)

That underneath beauty there can be something ugly. My guess on the meaning. But just a guess.

It is good are though thanks for sharing.

Thanks @stever82! I like your interpretation; it's simple but says a lot too :)

Nice work of art.Creativity is always next to live. Thank you for sharing @lynncoyle1


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Love her eyes... oh, and those 'lips'. Very funny :) Do you speak Spanish as well?

haha thanks! I have been learning since being here, but I'm not fluent that's for sure. I'm starting to get by with a lot of different things though.

I can imagine it is quite challenging in Mexico when you don't speak Spanish. How long have you been there?

Actually, between Google translate, and stumbling along with our Splanglish, it's ok! 😅 We've been here a little over a year now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50