A random collection of colors? Art? What do you think?

in #art6 years ago

Art or just chaotic? Sometimes I make things for fun and they don't turn out looking like anything in particular. I do try to make them look like something interesting to look at or some kind of composition that has a balance to it and contrasting colors or shapes that hopefully are somewhat unique and original since they stem from my crazy brain interacting with software in ways that are not likely to be repeated by other people. (or even myself, quite often)

The journey is more enjoyable to me than the final product. I work hard to not have such high standards for my art that I never share it. When I was younger, I would draw something or make something and only show it to close friends or family members who would usually more or less like it but my perfectionism would get the best of me and I would destroy whatever I made.

Part of making good art is the ability to edit out stuff that doesn't look good but also it's to just share what you created even if no one finds it pretty or interesting. Many times, I'm not the best judge of my own work and therefore, I have learned to somewhat surrender my ego and just share my work even if not everyone considers it to be a work of art.

An old idea that I try to remember is that: If you are too concerned with other people's opinions of you, then you will always be their prisoner. It took me a long time to get any levels of basic confidence to share my artwork and stop letting the real or imaginary harsh judgements of other people from controlling what I do or do not share with the world. Anyway, enough of a stream of consciousness ramble for now.

Have a wonderful week! :)

2222.png

Created and shared by: Nate @lundgreenman

Sort:  

I think it's not so bad :) I am the same way with my own art; I rarely, if ever, show it to others. People such as yourself here on Steemit however inspire me to maybe post some of my own random bullshit :)

Thanks. hahaha I find that having lower expectations for my own art helps me to be more creative in the long run and that is a good thing because I do occasionally stumble into making some amazingly beautiful abstract bits of art that I would not have made if I had impossibly high standards for everything I make.

Like good ol' Bob Ross would say: "with art, there are no mistakes, just happy accidents." (I think I'm quoting that right, but don't quote me on that, hahaha)

Do you want me to resteem your blog post to over 32,800 followers and many viewers to get more upvotes? For more info. go here: https://steemit.com/@a-0-0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74