Read personality by shoes people wear? Art installation : Being

in #art7 years ago

Being-1-steem.jpg

Recently I discovered “Contests” on steemit. Thanks @becometheartist for putting this helpful list together.

I am embarrassed for being oblivious, while feel excited that there is always something new on steemit to explore!!

So this post is not only to introduce my artwork, but also to participate Jenny's Art Contest Week #14. Thank you, @topkpop for organize this contest! I was immediately captivated by the theme of the contest, SPIRIT.

A large part of my work touch upon the concept of absent presence. I recreated everyday objects that closely relate to human body to construct site specific installation. For example, porcelain shoes in the pictures suggest anonymous persons standing in a space. Yet, only in a viewer’s mind exists the imagination of human figures stimulated by the physical objects (shoes).

Spirit, energy, or Chi, called in my culture, is invisible to our eyes but undeniably present in essence. To me, making site specific art installation is not just about the physical work itself. It’s also about how to marry spirit of the work and spirit of the space where the work is presented.

Being-2-steem.jpg

I am also interested in how objects can be used to assessed its owner’s personality or identity. For instance, we probably portray a person’s character or emotional state by the way he/she stands. In this installation, I tried to give these invisible figures personality by the display and the shaping of the shoes. Like feet wide open, closely touch each other, or stepping on the back end of shoes.

I’ve got quite a few feedbacks and questions from people saw this installation.
I’d say the most memorable one was about this pair.

Being-3-steem.JPG

A visitor to the show approached me and started the following brief conversation.
Visitor: Why this pair has two shoes both for right foot?
Me: When I was installing this pair, I imagined this is a shy person who hides behind the wall and peeks at what’s happening on the other side.
Visitor: I thought you were trying to say this person was gay. You know. The same ones together.
Me: …
I don’t remember what I replied. I was just amazed by people’s interpretation and imagination!

I am interested in how you think about this work. Please do share with me your thoughts and feedbacks!!

Being-4-steem.JPG

Being-5-steem.JPG

A little more about this installation.

Title: Being
Material: Porcelain
All the porcelain shoes were first shaped in the same pair of molds. Later, they were further modified to be distinct to represent certain characteristics. Distance between each pairs and the overall layout conveys the ideas of group and individual.

Sort:  

I really enjoyed this, and I would love to know what the stance of the first (solo) shoes was supposed to portray.

It reminds me of a very busy person, probably a female. A person that has a zillion things to do, but, somehow, still holds it all together. Not shy. Very friendly. Someone that doesn’t really care what others may think. :)

The way you describe it gives me a vivid mental image of this busy person.
I wanted to make the installation inviting. The first pair was close to the entrance of the exhibition space. I imagined it was like a person walking toward visitors, initiating conversation :)

I love your interpretation of spirit!

What do you think the shattered one signifies? A broken or forgotten spirit?

It was shattered during the transporting and firing process. Something I didn't expect. I kept it because the way it was broken. The front of shoe still holds its shape. It might imply the effort to "hold it together". Or maybe the shattered pieces were just some memories that were left behind but still there? I don't have a certain answer for this. Having the broken one there is more about a realization I got through making art. Things often don't go the way that I planed. Instead of seeking perfection, I will gain more from embracing what I have and making out the most of it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60500.53
ETH 2341.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53