Saturday Adventures

in #art7 years ago (edited)

So instead of the regular Saturday routine of playing Elder Scrolls online, (Hey, I can hack and slash my stress from the week, don't judge) we went last weekend to a local attraction.

It's one of the many hidden treasures that Northwest Arkansas holds, and one of my personal favorites. If you're a lover of art, history, beautiful settings and peaceful scenery, this would be your cup of tea.

It's just a few minutes outside of town and when you're here, you truly feel transported

20170617_115856.jpg

20170617_115254.jpg

Crystal bridges was built in 2005 by the world-reknowned Moshe Safdie and takes it's name from a nearby natural spring .

The most amazing thing is, to access the museum, trails, art, and library and everything else it has to offer is.... absolutely nothing.

It's permanent collection spans five centuries of American masterworks ranging from the Colonial era to the current day, but they also have special exhibits from time to time.

20170617_191522.jpg
They welcome photos, provided you use no flash. Please excuse my simple, smart phone photography. It doesn't do it justice and most of the photos I took on our adventure are at an angle, so as to not disturb other viewers who were enjoying the art as well.
Here are some of my all-time faves...
20170617_191624.jpg
This is my personal favorite because while the photo doesn't show it as well as real life, this work of art is painted in such a way that the light plays on it and the lanterns actually look like they are lit and glowing... It's called "The Lantern Bearers" and is by Maxfield Parrishs

Think, therefore I am.jpg
I think... therefore I am

20170617_115017.jpg

Interesting.jpg

20170617_115204.jpg
This one incorporates different parts of a piano!

Henry and Dylan.jpg
My son Henry and his guitar buddy Dylan.... 15 year olds do not smile for photos.... Ever.

Me and Arden.jpg
Me and my Mini-me... My daughter

Hopefully you've enjoyed this second hand view of a beautiful harbor for art and peace....

If you're ever passing through on your way to somewhere cool, like California, or Florida, New York.... or well... any where, you should stop in here a few hours. It will be time worth spent. Oh and say hello while you're here. :)

Sort:  

Cool!! Looks like fun!!! We're planning an Arkansas trip soon right @jessamynorchard?

Let me know and I'll be there with the welcome commitee (the kids) lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66