“Flame Flight” - Painting with fractals

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I love the dynamic movement available with fractal flames. Scott Draves created an iterated function system class of fractals that was later integrated into Adobe After Effects and translated into Apophysis, a fractal flame editor.

Fractal flames are different from regular iterated function systems in several ways including adding nonlinear function iterations to affine transforms, they use log-density display instead linear or binary displays, and instead of monochrome color or color by density, they possess color by structure because of recursive paths. All this technical hoo-ha leads to the ability to create images that allow for fluid overlaps and applications of dynamic light and color created with what amounts to fractal paint brushes. I find both of these programs a bit restrictive and am searching for ones that allow me more direct control over the flames I create.

Little bird little bird.jpg
"Fractal Flight" by The Astral Cowboy

I have made and used flames in numerous works and am experimenting with painting with them. There are works where I have achieved great accuracy and intricacies via the application of fractal flames, but often the fluidity and flexibility required to work with them feels as if I am creating as one might within stream of consciousness writing. I say required, but I love moving, working, writing, and digitally creating while in the flow.

cc-1 copy.png
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Sort:  

hope you don't mind I did this as a "thank you " for sharing your art with CC
:)
https://steemit.com/ccommonsart/@ccommons.art/62ddkw-wall-of-fame-creative-commons-content

Mind? I’m honored.

glad you appreciate it and hope you continue to bring color and energy sharing with cc

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 55173.73
ETH 2879.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30