PATTERN MAKING | AUTUMN 2018

in #art6 years ago



Hey steemit! In this piece, I will be taking you through my process in making these patterns above. This is actually my first time trying this process and I don’t have the proper tools to be able to create this with ease. Therefore, what I will be sharing here is probably not the best to do but hey, it worked for me and I am hoping that I might inspire and help you to create your own pattern.

ART CONCEPT

This particular piece is for autumn. My favorite season, aesthetically, is autumn. I love the color, the feel, and it just makes me very creative whenever I think about this season.

For the main piece, meaning the biggest parts of my pattern, I decided to make a collage style of the things that I love that makes me remember or think about autumn. I illustrated a cup of coffee, a pumpkin, mushroom, beanie, apple candies, candle, acorn, lamps, sunflower, and books.

For the other parts, I decided to illustrate some autumn leaves.

MATERIALS

Watercolor
Watercolor paper
Pencil
Micropen
White gel pen
Camera
Photoshop CS6

PROCEDURE


DRAFTING THE ILLUSTRATIONS



As per usual, I start by drafting my illustrations with my pencil. I only draft it with light strokes, just enough for me to be able to see the design for inking.

INKING THE ILLUSTRATIONS


After initial illustration of the design, I inked all of the drawings with my Micropen. I like this pen so much because it is easy to use, it has a good finish, and it is waterproof and it dries fast.

PAINTING THE ILLUSTRATIONS



Afterwards, I painted all of my drawings with watercolor and added some white highlights to give that cute shiny style that I am going for.

EDITING THE ILLUSTRATIONS ON PHOTOSHOP


Since I don’t have a scanner yet, I just took photos of the drawing and then I edited them in Photoshop and saved digital versions of my illustrations.



The next step that I will do is that I will edit these digital versions into repeated patterns and I made one with white background and one with brown background to have some variety.

AND THAT IS IT!

I already have my first ever pattern for autumn. I am aware that this is not the best way in making patterned illustrations but given the fact that I have no proper tools, I think this is a good trial.

I am actually happy with how it turned out and I encourage you to try making your own.

As always, thank you for taking your time to read my entry and I am hoping to have you on my next one.


You can also see me on these links:

Facebook Art Page: https://www.facebook.com/loujaecreations/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/loujaecreations/?hl=en

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCI0cVcrNls29ndI0RBmcqVw?view_as=subscriber


Have a nice day and…


BE THE MAGIC THE WORLD NEEDS

~ Fenella Samson

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61098.19
ETH 2625.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63