School Week 3

in #art6 years ago

This week was a really tough week. I had a lot of homework to do and a lot of it was a real challenge. So let me share some of that with you.

Clothed Figure Drawing

I really love my clothed figure drawing class, there is just something really fun about it. The costumes really add something fun and extra to the whole process than just drawing nudes all day. The thing I'm trying to focus on with this is using wraparounds and implying 3 dimensional shape with line and little tone. It's pretty hard and I have not mastered it in the slightest, but I'm learning a lot.

3_1_20min_Torres.jpg
20 minute sketch

3_2_Wraparound_Torres.jpg
A 20 minute sketch where I was a model for myself

3_2_Wraparound_Torres_2.jpg
Another 20 minute sketch

3_1_10min_Torres.jpg
10 minute sketches

3_1_5min_Torres.jpg
5 minute warmup sketches

Perspective Drawing

This week in my perspective class we were focusing on thumbnailing ideas and using atmospheric perspective. Atmospheric perspective is the idea that things further in the distance (especially in an outdoor scene or underwater) become less contrasted in value and start to fade into the sky color behind everything. Usually things in the foreground are much more crisp. This is due to the moisture in the air that sort of starts to mute the colors and value of things as they move farther away from your view in space. Emulating this in your drawings adds an added level of dimension and 3D space to the image. We were also focusing on doing this with thumbnails.

Thumbnails are important as they help you solve value and compositional problems before you spend hours and hours on the final image. With these thumbnails I was trying to keep details minimal and use shapes and value to present a simplified idea from which I can build upon.

A4_Torres.jpg

Intro to Anatomy

In my intro to anatomy course, we are slowly going though bones and bony landmarks. Bony landmarks are really useful visual landmarks that can help you identify proportions, maintain proper relationships between various reference points on the figure, and they also provide a feeling of structure under the fleshy parts of the body. I didn't share my work from week 2 so here is some of that work from the past two weeks that involved the torso, the pelvis, and the lower leg and foot. These were drawn in Charcoal on newsprint.

Torres_2_2.jpg
The Torso

Torres_2_2_b.jpg
The Pelvis

Torres_2_1.jpg
Putting that all together

20180223_201116.jpg
The bones of the lower leg

Torres_3_1.jpg

Torres_3_2.jpg
Putting it all together from various angles

History of American Illustration

I have an art history course that I am working on as well. There has really only been a long term essay that I had to write that I will share here when I complete it this week. It is on Kenyon Cox, a very amazing and talented muralist and academic portrait painter who lived from 1856 to 1919.

That's all for now! Stay tuned as I update with more work that I'm doing later this week!

Sort:  

Great stuff!
really nice to see all this sketches
l wish l could go to art school again..

Definitely seems like you’re learning a lot. The clothed figure drawing you did of yourself remind me of how I sketch. I really loved the thumbnails.

Yeah, there are certain parameters I have to stay in for the class, there is a big focus on line. And as a painter, that's not generally how I like to work. I jump straight in with form and value and shape. So I think I'm just trying to find myself within that a bit.

It's cool
Especially those ones that are feminish

Woww quede impresionado con el dibujo de la figura de ti mismo :o

Yoooo those bone sketches are TIGHT!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17