Comic Art Style

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I need some help. I'm trying to work on a comic book style of art that I can draw quickly. I have an idea for the comic already roughly laid out, just trying to work on the art style. I can do this style really quickly. I'm think color wise, keeping in very monochromatic based on the scene and what is going on. Tell me what you think. If you saw this art style in a book, would you be ok with it?

Church Character Style.jpg

UPDATE:

Here is a sample panel with no color yet. I'm thinking something like this.

Sort:  

I made an updated post with page 1 here:

https://steemit.com/art/@loganarchy/working-on-a-comic-here-is-page-1

It has COLOR!

I like a lot ur style my friend AMAZING

Thanks. That means a lot.

(What's this gif from? o . o)

Quicksilver of X-men :) in giphy.com <3

blinks
Wow, really? Did X-Men use the Scott Pilgrim text effects, or was that added in...?

Lol I'm so behind on like... ALL the movies LMAO

I really like the combination of bold lines and fine details.

Thank you. I think faces are important. It's what we all look for in communicating and what not. So I feel extra care needs to be given to the faces.

This looks AMAZING!! I especially love the expressions you use for these two characters. I think this style of art would work well in a comic book, especially for a Western audience. Keeping it monochromatic would look great!

I think if you made the lines slightly more cleaner, color would be fantastic too! I don't know how to do monochromatic at all. XD

Thank you. My thinking is that there would be color, but I would use various colors for various places, scenarios, emotions, times of day, etc.

I think I still need to strike that balance of loose line work and very deliberate. I was experimenting with that concept on the panel sample there. I really like some looseness to the art style. Just my own personal taste.

Oh, sounds great! :) I think that would be amazing to see.
Good luck! I look forward to seeing it. ^ ^

Go for it. I think it'll look great in that style.

Nice work

Hi, I am a graphic designer and if i would see this in a comic book i would be so interesed to read and analyze this artwork because it's so original, I can see the details in the faces of the characters, welldone, upvote and follow for you 🙌

what do you use for drawing them, what software ?

Thank you for the kind words. I sketched all of this in Photoshop. I have a hard edge square brush I used that I have really fallen in love with.

So cool and nice, maybe you should try add some colors in it, maybe watercolors but keep going on this, this is so artistic :)))

Thanks everyone, I've updated the post with a panel sample to further demonstrate my ideas.

That's a fine style. It reminds me of some Hellboy stuff I was readings not too long ago. To that end, I do think you'll need a story that suites the style.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68394.30
ETH 2644.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69