Drawing Life #15 : Dream Of Spring From Depression

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Steem15.jpg

What do you think when you see this drawing?

It was inspired by a dream that came to me many times when life looked so bleak. Many things went wrong all at once. This was before I understood my depression. Depression left me feeling antisocial and not wanting to trust anyone around me as I had my trust broken many times.

These difficult times left me feeling the need for a safe harbour, I found that in the teachings of Buddha and other wise people. So in this dream, this image, it shows the safety I felt being guided by the hand of Buddha. He teaches us that a lotus flower grows from the mud, that beautiful things can come from adversity. These teachings gave me hope and strength and reminded me that I am not alone; that light can shine through the dark.

I sketched my dream, adding details like the “áo dài” - my favorite Vietnamese traditional dress; and the finger touching the hair, a sign of tender love.

Now that I look back at this picture, the dark times do not seem as bad, it reminds me that from my struggles with depression, I have come out stronger and happier. I am able to appreciate the good things in life more.

It also lead me to meditation and art, which have been great for me and my development to become a more balanced person.

My depression made me take time to understand myself better and helped me become a good listener to others going through a similar journey, bringing me closer to them.

So if you’re struggling today, it’s okay - it will not last forever, remember:

The rainbow only appears after the storm.

@livvu

Sort:  

The teachings of Buddha is really wise. I saw this quote a while ago. " Buddha was asked, "What you gained from meditation? He replied, Nothing However I tell you what I lost: Anger, Anxiety, Depressing, Insecurity, Fear of old age and death." Keep up the amazing artwork @livvu

Thank you @vaansteam for your sharing !! I love to read books written by Thich Nhat Hanh, each of his words is full of compassion and magical energy

@vaansteam Great quote.

@livvu Thank you for sharing something so personal. I have also gone through depression and anxiety and know how horrendous it feels during episodes. However, it has also given me a greater sense creativity and introspection as well as self awareness as it has given you. That's a beautiful drawing btw! :D

Thank you @daddyku. I'm happy that you've already gone through it and found positive side. Keep up your drumming and other passions!!

Thank you, I will do!

Chị vẽ đẹp thật ấy <3

Cảm ơn em!!

chị vẽ đẹp quá.

Thanks em!!

very nice, i love it
i klik follow, and i hope you follow me back =D

Thank you @akbarul. I follow you back :-)

It's a very peaceful picture. Very calming. I like your shading!

Thank you @titus-andronicus !! I'm glad that you find it peaceful and calming!

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Thank you very much @artzone

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Awesome drawing with a powerful meaning

Thank you very much @pedropablo11

hey beautiful, I just wanted to check up on you and see more of your beautiful drawing.
I also wanted to check and see if you are following @steemgigs which seems to be a place to let other people know that you can do gigs of all types for crypto SBDs.
I think you might be able to find work there, or at least expand your viewership and make some friends there. keep up the wonderful drawings.

Thank you very much @markeverlasting !! I'll learn more about steemgigs

Wha vẽ đẹp lắm!
👏👏👏

Hihi cảm ơn anh!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63138.55
ETH 2579.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80