Kyu & Mitsu | Lires Artwork Process | Original Art | Zoom-In TutorialsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

knm title.png

Hiya Steemians! Welcome to another episode of Lires Artwork Process. Today I'm going to show you my process of doing Kyu & Mitsu as well as the techniques I used that you might find useful.

Reference

I'm always happy when I get to see references for my artworks. Besides making my job easier, I get to see other people's rendition and a chance to see techniques that I haven't seen yet.

knm ref.png

Sketching

This one was really fun to sketch. The only thing that was a bit of a challenge for me was drawing two or more characters in one artwork. I always seem to have some problem keeping their proportion in check. Up until now, that's one of my (many) weaknesses.

knm sketch.png

Inking

I really loved inking this artwork. I enjoyed every bit of lines I made here. It almost made me think of changing career to a manga artist. Lol. Glad I didn't though.

knm ink.png

Flats

This one's the boring part. So many parts to flat! If only I can work straight to coloring. :\

knm flat.png

Painting

Painting Kyu was really fun. Especially painting her skin. Metals are also quite challenging. I haven't really settled on a firm technique while painting them. My technique on metals changes from artwork to artwork.

knm a.png

Painting Mitsu was also interesting. I was kind of stuck on what effect I should use on his eyes. I'm fairly satisfied with the result. Painting his hair was also fun.

knm b.png

knm c.png

So many black papers to draw and paint! D:

Zoom-In Effect

Adding effects like Zoom-In makes an action shot more intense! Here's how I did it:

knm htb.png

Result!

knm blur.png

Then use the Eraser tool and choose a brush with soft edges (something like airbrush). Erase the parts where you want it to be more focused. And - you're done!

knm d.png

So intense!!!

I hope you found this art process useful. I'll try to post more tutorials. ^-^
Bye for now!

-lires

Sort:  

I love your style and workflow, thanks for sharing it with us :D

Thanks a bunch @joxus!
followed back!

This is awesome! Loved seeing your process; you're painting style is really great.

Thanks a lot, Theresa! :D
followed back

Congratulations @lires! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62020.79
ETH 2420.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64