Two-Point Stance #3 - Landon "Money" CollinssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

Hello again, friends!

I wanted to take this time today to show you all a project that I had been doing this past few months. If you're an NFL fan, you may know the name of the young safety for the New York Giants that just had a breakout, Defensive Player of the Year worthy season. Or maybe not!

IMG_2347.PNG
He just finished his 2nd season in the NFL, doing what no safety has done before (125 tackles, 4 sacks, 5 interceptions in a season). Being so young, he's still a relatively new name in the league. Of course, I'm talking about Landon Collins.

For those who would like to see some highlights:


Warning: Explicit language used in the song (Rae Sremmurd - Swang)
Video courtesy of SHProductions on Youtube!

IMG_2348.PNG
First comes the initial sketch (those oven mitt hands, tho!)
Very basic shapes drawn, the details come in later on.

IMG_2349.PNG

I then start to outline the form of Collins, using a bit larger brush, in black. This will be the fine outline, so the trails and such are erased to make it stand out.

IMG_2351.PNG
Basic outline finished! Time to hide the sketch layer, and then we can get to coloring!
I also added some detail strokes in the ball, hands, helmet, uniform.

IMG_2344.PNG
Starting to color! Here's the top half. I normally do section-by-section, each in a different layer. So the skin is one layer, helmet is a different one, jersey has its own, etc. Now I didn't get a progress photo here but it's all flat colors first, then after locking transparency, going in and shading with the brush in lighter and darker hues.

IMG_2345.PNG
Adding more onto the bottom half... white and grey shades to give the lower half depth.

IMG_2346.PNG
And with that, the figure is complete!


This is my first time doing a sequence-sort of post. I hope that you all enjoy this! Thank you very much for reading, and I hope you enjoyed! Hopefully more to come in regards to these NYG posts!

thank you!.gif

cooltext251634093601205.png

Sort:  

This looks great! I especially love the line-art process you have going. It's so clean and smooth. The pose is wonderful, too- it's in action and super dynamic. ^^

Thank you Pinqo! It was a fun piece to work on for sure! Hope to do more in the future :)

This is really great @linebacker. But the first one is still looking different from the last one. Can you tell me what software did you use to make that effect? By the way I am a blogger and writer. You can have a look on my creations @vinaypsychic if you want. Thank you!

Basically the first picture has the lineart removed. I simply clicked off of the linework to make it invisible! Sometimes it creates a nice effect!

This was all done in Sketchbook Pro on the iPad

Nice! Thank you for the reply!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60441.03
ETH 3344.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48